enena alem endet senebetin………… I survived, but the kids in cambodia ????,

There is a time for many words, and there is also a time for sleep.
Homer (800 BC – 700 BC), The Odyssey , what does Homer mean by this? ( this is for you Tibe and Tilish, )

What a week it has been. I am still sleep deprived, “ betam endetechemaleku new yegebagn” I mean I used to sleep only for 4 hours so many times and I always felt energetic. But now, losing that one-hour, because of daylight saving time (DST) has got me sleeping all over the place. I mean when I think about it where does that hour go.Does it simply disappear, or will it be conserved like mass,( shows how I suck at physics) Shame on you Benjamin Franklin for coming up with the idea of it, do you think it is fair? Don’t get me wrong, I admire this guy, he is a very interesting character, there is nothing he hasn’t done, no wonder he doesn’t need to sleep. According to the information I got from wikipeidia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benjamin_Franklin), he has been author, politician, printer, scientist, philosopher, publisher, inventor… (I am running out of breath)… civic activist and diplomat. I like him and because I will be saying, hello Benjamin( like Eddie Murphy) , welcome whenever I see a $100 bill. But most of all his virtues are really amazing, 13 of them, read it on the link above. I read that the idea for the DST came from his essay “ An economical project” in the spirit of his earlier proverb “Early to bed and early to rise / Makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.” But he did not propose that clock be changed.

So the blame or the gratefulness for the idea of DST doesn’t lie on Benji only, there is this other guy, a builder and outdoorsman William Willett invented DST in one of his pre-breakfast horseback rides. He had been dismayed by how many Londoners slept through the best part of a summer day. An avid golfer, he also disliked cutting short his round at dusk. ( I cannot imagine , if Tiger Woods ever proposes another hour to be deducted ). So two years later this Watson guy published a comprehensive proposal for DST… I got this from wikipedia too.( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daylight_saving_time), Any way beneficial or not, “ enkilfam hognalew

Well, as for the weather, it still is teasing us, one day it rains, another day it is bright and beautiful. I am not gonna complain though, I hear NY got some snow. As much I wanted to see snow, being my first time and all, but it really sucked when all of us in my family got into an accident at the same day. It was a terrible experience. I have had enough.

And finally by the end of the week, I realized my problems are nothing compared to what some kids go through in the other part of the world. I went down to the basement to wake my cousin, who unusually sleeps with the TV on, then what was on the TV got my attention , it was really horrible, I still cannot even swallow the thought. It was about sex trafficking in Cambodia. Who in his right mind would exploit children of age 5,6,7…….., this is sick, this is slavery at its worst, like Colin Powell put it “It is a sin against humanity, and it is a horrendous crime” . (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/4038249/). See also the story of Dalyn, 17,(http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/this_world/6422729.stm)

In the part of this universe that we know there is great injustice, and often the good suffer, and often the wicked prosper, and one hardly knows which of those is the more annoying.
Bertrand Russell (1872 – 1970)

It made me think of my little cousins, those kids are the same age as them, and I thanked God that they are all safe from all this. The worst of it all is, this is a crime supported by many visitors to the country, read the story of the American Doctor. I like what Colin Powell said when he was asked,

Why should Americans be concerned about the sex trade in Cambodia?
SECRETARY POWELL: How can we turn away? If we want to have friends in the world, if we want to have better relations with the countries of the world, we have to help them with this kind of problem.
You know, can you imagine the spread of disease that is taking place with this kind of activity? Can you imagine what will happen to these girls when they’re 15 or 20? What will become of them? They’ll have no education. They will be — they will have been used and tossed away and ruined.
And that affects not just these girls, it affects that country. It affects the family life in that country, it affects society development, it affects income, and, therefore, it affects foreign policy.
So, as the Secretary of State, why is the Secretary of State worried about trafficking in persons? Because it deals with foreign policy. It deals with economic and social development within a country. And a country that does not treasure its youth and protect its youth is not going to be moving in the right direction in the 21st century.
And a nation such as ours, which says we are a moral nation, and that we have a value system, that we would allow our citizens to go over and fuel that trade, by their presence and by their money and by their rotten exploitation of these children, we wouldn’t be living up to our values if we didn’t do something about it.

It made me think about those guys in our country, that bring children and make them work “ Yeshimena sira”, but the one in Cambodia is worse, this is exploitation of innocence. But who knows what goes on in our country; no one even bothers to look into such problems. It is frustrating, saddening, unfathomable. Any way I hope, it will be a past some day.

Now gotta go and see Barak Obama on Larry King. I love this guy, the first black to run for president, and smart too. I like what
he said when asked about his not having that much experience… this may not be his exact words, but the meaning is more or less the same
” Chenny and Rumsfeld have so much experience and look what happend”
So long every one,
ciao

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. betty
    Mar 23, 2007 @ 15:03:00

    hey days are same here in Columbus, Ohio, I mean longer. If the two of you were to come here, the first words that will come out of your mouth will be, ” it is flat” , you just see a very wide and vast field, no hills, no mountains. I have traveld to the ” Geter” parts of Ohio( not seen much of the gerteritua Ethiopia, so shame on me), but after that I stopped telling people ” lemlemitua Ethiopia”, because if you were to see this, endeza menager yasafral, so when they ask me if Most of Ethiopia is dry, I just say, yeah some of it, nothing more.Well I think the purpose of DST is to save energy, so by the time people go to sleep, they will not need to turn the light on. Oh, I am sorry papiye, but Wuha izihim beitif chemirual.

    Reply

  2. tibebe
    Mar 23, 2007 @ 09:35:00

    the days and nights are same as ever where i am.bicha wuha kehede sost kenu. enante ga kale metiche likida?

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Mar 22, 2007 @ 19:39:00

    i usually sleep in the afternoon. by the time i wake up its night. but today it wasn’t. yes! days are getting longer. i think long days are better than long nights. if you want darkness then you can just close your curtains. i think here in the longest days night falls at 8 PM. what about you betty? btw which state are you in?

    Reply

  4. tibebe
    Mar 22, 2007 @ 08:52:00

    yesterday i saw the documentary “man with orcas”.the crozet islands`are sure interesting.being able to film the fighting elephant seals upclose is really nice.orcas sleep and float at the same time by letting half their brain sleep at one time , amazing!(betty, here is a way of combatting your sleep deprivation.)i know it is going to sound a bit crazy.but the capricious weather and the seclusion of the island , for a moment , had me going ,”wow ,i wish i was there!”another coast that has impressed me is the skeleton coast.it is found on the atlantic coast of namibia bordering the namib/kalahari? desert .it got it’s name from the shipwrecks and no rescue through the years .on the documenatry that i saw some years back ,there was a lion feeding on a dead whale that had been washed off shore.where else can anyone witness such an amazing sight?!so much trouble in the world and i wish i could do something about every injustice.but i am so self absorbed to think of others.one day,scratch that ,today i hope to be that better person.in the meantime ,bless all the people with the courage to dogood.amen!

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Mar 21, 2007 @ 11:31:00

    erere atsatsaf! i like it!daylight saving was important for me. who wants to get up at midnight and go for lectures huh? plus when the hour is taken back for one hour its on november where i was in short of time. i don’t know when they’ll take back that hour. but i’m in a better position to loose one hour now.its a sad thing whats happening in cambodia and all over the world too. theres no justice. we exploit children too btw. think about the maids we hire. some are little kids. and even if they are not their time is spent serving us. they don’t often get the opportunity to go to school or have some time to study.

    Reply

  6. tibebe
    Mar 20, 2007 @ 07:47:00

    well obviously Homer hated talking during sex.on saturday night live(2004 or so)they were talking about the new podium rumsfeld had had made.the purpose was to hide the boner talking about the war in iraq gives him,at all times.back soon with mature comments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
