20. Tinat ………………………………………38 days to

rhan345l.jpg                                                     image043.jpg 

(Any similarity between the two pictures is purely intentional.)

It seems I can not avoid it: spent yet another sleepless night before yet another exam; the way it always has been in college as far as I can remember.  Plenty of time passed unaccounted for in “tinat” terms and I was left with the night of the eve to save my ass. Save my ass it did as it turned out and like I hoped/prayed it would.  But I wish it did not have to be this way. For one it is risky: I was hoping to study on a computer, I could not get one and had no hard copies of the lectures.  While I was wondering if this finally was the day I was going to be screwed, I stumbled upon a cell biology text book which happened to have a good chapter on immunity.  The exam was at 8:30 and that was the last “chickela” proper I conducted. Of course I did some brushing up until the last moment-Betty would know. 

Second, I am sick and tired of being in class but not really, studying just for the sake of exams and forgetting what I studied soon after. I grew up hearing about the benefits of studying “kesir kesir”. And yet, I just can’t seem to get the hang of that one: and I let them pile up –every time. 

But still, you gotta love some aspects of cramming. You get into it feeling all kinds of scared and usually get out of it feeling like you have done your best.  Things that were unclear when you had the time now happen to be much clearer and fast.  And your prayers start getting weird: you go “beselam yawalken beselam asadiren ’’ at 3 or 4 in the morning. And there is that high you feel for approx. 10 minutes after leaving the hall and taking a piss. 

A while back, Tilaye was talking about Murphy’s Laws. Here are more interesting principles: 

Parkinson’s Law    Work expands so as to fill the time available for its completion.”         

 The Peter Principle    “In a hierarchy every employee tends to rise to his level of incompetence.”     

The Dilbert Principle   “Companies tend to systematically promote their least-competent employees to management (generally middle management), in order to limit the amount of damage that they’re capable of doing.”    

It is my twentieth post: ergo my entries have come of age and are teens no more. Next time, I am going to talk about existentialism in comparison to and in contrast with empiricism and rationalismJ 

 I am outtie  

One

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tibebe
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 14:01:59

    that is really me in the cartoon. i swear on the grave of the chump on the right.

    there is plenty of good stuff to read especially with the internet at your disposal. and thank Heavens for pdf files. but the way i am doing is just download them and look at them close to never . the enthusiasm you had while waiting for the download dialog box to do its thing evaporises when cominng to the studying stage.

    it is hard for me to get really interested in any subject if there is not an exam around the corner. even if i managed to get into it ,it would be only for a while.

    i have always wondered who was going to answer the questions at the end of chapters in a text book; i know i don’t .but what if kesir kesir helps to cover different aspects of a course and that part also gets done?

    i don’ t think that there is anything to be left out from a text book. ketemaru ayiker hulunim memar new enji. that is given enough time. and i think time won’t be a problem if you take care of shit on a daily basis.

    Reply

  2. tilaye
    Aug 11, 2007 @ 23:36:08

    whats that picture? dibibiqosh? ene tibe yet endale alayehum 😀

    funny quotes 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
