42. Selam! Tibebe ebalalehu; leba negn.

I try not to visit other blogs regularly lest my posts start to resemble those written by bloggers whose steelo I take a liking to. True, I often use the random redirection feature of WordPress to compare blog stats but often that is about it. But no matter how I try to appear original, I know somebody out there has already said what I so pompously post as my latest entry. The last statement’s inspiration, I mooched off this lady’s blog . I read a few of her posts and ……. humbling and intimidating! Some people sure have a picturesque way of writing. 

Sami saw the entry before last and kind of suggested that the brilliant idea about “humpers without borders” was his. I remember discussing it with him, as I do some of the material up in this with some people, but I am not sure who cosigned with whom. So sue me, Sami! ( by the way he has told me that next week , he is going to leave for Bale Mountains’ National Park to work on his project entitled ”Running with the Red Wolves”; good luck man!) And may this serve as a disclaimer to anyone and everyone, in the past present or future-if it looks like that I have stolen your idea/s, it is probably because I have, knowingly/unknowingly. Deal with it! 

Bright ideas are neither created nor destroyed; they are just thought some brain else and posted some blog else. 

Now that we have got that little detail out of the way, I can finally write about the things I saw and heard.  I visited an exhibition that showcases the history of The Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahido Church. What I liked the most was the guides –they know their stuff. There was plenty of interesting things to see but without those fellows the 2hrs+ affair would have taken its toll on me. 

I attended the Ibero-American film festival; saw five films –four in Spanish one in Portuguese -all with subtitles—. I used to think Venezuela was all about beauty queens, oil resources and Hugo Chavez. Tocar y luchar (to play and to fight) has added a fourth dimension to that perception. In almost every community throughout the country there are orchestras composed of people who grow up learning music from as little as four years old. One of the founders of the scheme said “… An orchestra is the only place where people come together with the sole purpose of agreeing with each other. ….”  Midway through the documentary, I was musing if the same could happen in Ethiopia. There is an undertone of a consensus in many circles and rectangles that in groups Ethiopians function badly or not at all except in comer y luchar (to eat and to fight).  But the “sad” reality is that we can not have wars all the time and if “ho blen lelimat bandinet ketenesan”, then we would be insanely and self–absorbedly rich that we won’t have to eat together nomore. Moreover, I feel little is being done to bring about a national psyche while there is too much exertion on constituents.  

The millennium might just be a godsend in that respect but we need more to make us feel that we are part of this unique assembly of people called Ethiopians. Seeing the film like I have seen it, one would probably have to agree what better way to instill a sense of belongingness from an early age than music. It may seem an expensive undertaking given our always to blame poverty, but what isn’t?

 Memorable people from the other films- two old guys from soldados de Salamis (the soldiers of Salamis) and the forest (a selva)… can’t a guy  forget?  I have to say eneza shimagilewoch have aged full of delightful cynicism; and one of them hardly speaks!   

Memorable scene, hands or rather hoofs down- the one where this guy has intercourse with a horse. The part of the violated equine was played by a stunt horse. 

 Annoyance – the assholes at the back that talked and giggled through two films; and I sat there aching for the day when I shall finally flip out on people like them, speeding taxi drivers inclusive. 

And now…the irony section: 

A neon sign inside a bakery reads”Behulet shih Ethiopia kealem mahibereseb gar yalatin wodagignet tagolebitalech!” From bread point of view, our relationship with the international community had for the most part been based on them giving us wheat or money to buy/produce it with. And from bread point of view, I rather we did not strengthen our cooperation with other folks.   

 The intro to “gebi” (a radio programme on tax) is/used to be?  Usher’s nice and slow. It would go “…. you know I am coming over right? ……. wear that little thing I like …..”  A bid to make tax sound romantic? 

 Gotta split! It is the idea police! 

 One

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elyas Mulu Kiros
    May 08, 2012 @ 03:08:01

    Oh wait …..this is from one. Lol why did I think it came from number 2. Sorry bro lol

    Reply

  2. Elyas Mulu Kiros
    May 08, 2012 @ 03:03:42

    Betam arif entry. I was wondering why u went mute after visiting the fatherland, though maybe qumtan yizot naw. 😀 …. Am glad to hear abt the latin afro connection through cultural exchange. Ive always wanted a strong bond to exist btn soth america n africa; wr have a lot in common, n we can learn plenty from each other, not to mention latin americans r fond of africa, genuinely. 🙂 I am with u regarding the national identity issue, I believe we all have stake in it, so if we only expect the govt to do miracle abt it, it aint gonna happen…..given their track record, they only seem interested in regionalization. So I think its upto the citizens to come up with a national project that counterchallenges the leadership in a positive way….the thing is we have this fighting mentality, that we believe we either destroy or get destroyed. Compromisw yemibalew qalu rasu exist ayaregim bequwanquwachn. That has to change. I think I thought soccer realy brings ppl.together back home or sports in general. just like music. We can capetalize on that. 🙂

    I thought the dabo bet irony is funny. 🙂 too many ironies we have.

    Reply

  3. tibebe
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 12:58:11

    you do not have to worry about the number of universities because there is one even in your sefer, “gofa university” 😀 . I can not see why Unity has to be a university college when newly established government institutions are given the status of university. That is if name really should matter.

    I hate challenges:they are so challenging. Anyway, I will try to answer your question.After coming across three that do not , I am still trying to find a spectrophotometre that measures at 280 nm . May be then I can finish the project ( I had to have a scapegoat or three in this case ), graduate ,go out into the world and make it do what it do.It could be through biochemistry or something else but I am thinking of rasen mechal and let others rasachewen mechal and them let others rasachewin ……. you know like a chain reaction. Everyone becomes responsible for themselves and a few others.

    Man why you stressing me? I do not have a road map or sumthin’! And I would like to think that this blog’s nature is 0.5% tink tank and feel good for the rest part. Kepping with that notion, let me say these real quick:

    screw ehadeg

    screw kinjit

    screw every single political party there ever was / is in Ethiopia

    screw every shitty government we had / have

    and finally , a special mention, screw lidetu ( see how it rhymes?!)

    The ones to really change Ethiopia are people who are born after 1970 E.C. Then again they are the sons and daughters of their mothers and fathers. So it is our children who are going to change Ethiopia for the better – provided that we raise them teaching them to be everything that we are not. Can we do that? It is anybody’s guess.

    Tilaye :I can accept the need for process say in the evolution of man from ape like ancestors. But we can not keep on justifing every failure with it.

    Aemro : I think the saying from the drama went like” Tesfa riko yetesekele dabo new” . It was on a drama about yebet kiray and Getachew Yeshaw (RIP) starred on it .

    Betty, I thought the draft was yours but it seems that our telepathy was functioning poorly on the day I thought that. Tilaye , sometimes you what ? Write it already!

    Reply

  4. getere
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 11:35:38

    aemro, it is a process we are going through. we’ll get there.

    Reply

  5. Aemro
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 21:00:10

    Most of people accept every propaganda either from the leaders or the greedy externals as it is. That is all from the lack of education. who knows one day change might come.
    I remember a proverb from ETV drama about hope, “Tesfa yehiwot makoyea new!!!”

    No determined leader, no determined opposition …… no determined country.

    Ayi kinijit , yet yidersal yetebale …….

    Reply

  6. tibebe
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 10:26:17

    I beg to differ on the ” scarce resources” part. I think most of the wars in Africa are waged with the aim of controling abundant resources . And they are usually fought under various pretexts that always seem to do the trick in terms of getting just the right number of people ready to die for a “cause”. The west (governments ,businesses,arms dealers)and local leaders ( military or not ) end up profiting from the wars and the people always come out worse.

    Instead of being the eternal puppets ,we should stand on our own three and know what is good for us.

    Reply

  7. tilaye
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 13:49:00

    people in “developed” world think as if our hobby is fighting. but it all boils down to scarce resources. if you had everything that you need then there would be no conflicts. so i’m optimistic about our situation no matter how bad it seems. ye migb erdata negerima ayinesa……

    i think we should see more non-american movies. they are enjoable. did i mention “The Green Butchers”. i think it is a danish film..i forget but really fun and enjoable. the best thing about these movies is that they don’t have computer effects and big budgets. so the creators/actors put a lot of effort in the story. The Green Butchers is about two Butchers who started their own business. It is a serious story and really funny too. Another movie i liked is “All or nothing”. its a british movie. a very low budget movie. looks like a documentary. has long pauses in dialouges. you feel as if you persoanlly know the characters. a recent TV series i watched is “Carnivale”. WOW! sew endezih aynet imagination alew ende.

    Reply

  8. tibebe
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 09:35:31

    Nothing gets past you; does it ?! Yes I was born to bore- it’s my blessing. But with that single jaded phrase ,”a rich tradition and history” , you have managed to outbore me. Bravo tiz! Bravo 😆

    Reply

  9. tilaye
    Dec 10, 2007 @ 23:04:03

    efoy zimbileh yabat yekotun sitawera aselechehegn. lela gize anebewalehu.
    but speaking about the guides, they do know their stuff. we also have a rich tradition and history so it is not a problem for them.
    aemro, Graham Hancock has written the Sign and the Seal which concludes that the ark is in ethiopia
    http://www.grahamhancock.com/library/book.php?bookID=1
    i have read some portion of it. some of his arguments are convincing but some i found to be far fetched.

    Reply

  10. tibebe
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 11:03:28

    If memory serves me right a guide was pointing to the picture of one of the buildings in Axum Tsion and saying that it was where The Ark of the Covenant was being kept.

    Two Amharic books have recently been written on the topic. One is fiction and the other chronicles what real life explorers encountered .I have not read both. But I think Tilaye has read The Sign and the Seal; may be he can say something.

    Who knows if Indiana Jones v will be done on it?

    I agree that the “if they took the obelisk, then…..” argument is a lame one.

    Reply

  11. Aemro
    Dec 08, 2007 @ 23:18:24

    while you were visiting Ethiopian Orthodox exhibition I was reading related story. I hope you haven’t seen the Ark of covenant in the exhibitions so that you won’t give good answer for my question. we are claiming that we have the original ark of covenant which is given for Mosses from God. I know this story but i didn’t give attention about it. On the article which I read today, the writer tried to put nice arguments how it could be true. Egyptians and Israels the main actors of the story don’t agree with what we are saying. I heard that no one can see the ark of covenant in Axum. It is protected my one monk for life time and then replaced by another monk. I argue with some commenter on this article. One guy said ,when Italy invade Ethio, they have taken so many things, even an oblisk which wight so many tons. so what makes them reserved from doing so for the covenant?
    any way the article is here http://www.smithsonianmag.com/people-places/ark-covenant-200712.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
