76. How sorry can one get ?

I bet you thought I was kidding about the Wandering Jew, didn’t you? Monday and Tuesday BD was covered with a mist of dust that was reported as having come from the Sahara. A newary says he has never seen anything like it.

Imaghhen001

It is common knowledge that Ethiopian Airlines is enkuans zenbobsh /damena honobish… even when not dogged by a natural phenomenon. Flights were canceled and my sister and her husband could not visit me over the weekend. The cancellations before the dust aside, I am still trying to figure out where the dust fits into part of their luggage going to Mekele. To add insult to injury, it was returned to them on the fourth day, a pair of shoes missing and a sealed container of biscuits opened and its contents replaced with second rate biscuits.

I read an article about how volcanic ash from the eruption of Pina Tubo in 1991 decreased average temperatures by reflecting the sun’s rays back. It says environmental engineering (e.g.  spraying the atmosphere with reflector gases) is being considered as a supplement for efforts like reduction of emission.

Then again global warming just maybe nothing to fret about; on the opposite it could be something positive. This according to a book which states that within the bigger cycles of ice ages and thaws, there are smaller cycles of global warming and cooling and historical documents show the warm periods to be of good agricultural productivity in many areas.

My money is on the effect of global warming being not as bad as people say it would be. You know what the Lord said to Noah: “no more water, next time it is going to be fire”.

Cities going under rising levels of water-  it just doesn’t add up.

Dust, nightly rains, staying inside, familiarity,… I feel that the weather here has cooled down considerably.

Leftover observations from last time

  • I have not seen a single balance since I came here. Either the people here are not weight-conscious or they lack business sense.
  • The bicycles, I should mention the bicycles.
  • I have heard Aregahegne’s new album playing hither and thither. Maybe it was the FM. But silly of me to worry if his songs were going to be any good. I mean he is juggling a music career with the dagnet of amist ediroch. Or so I wrote.

Lemindinew gin Aregahegne lay neger yemitenekirew?

  • A t shirt with “Yaledingil Mariam kiristina yelem“   is a hit here. Keep it inside people! Why we got to be confrontational instead of directing that same energy and enthusiasm to, let us say, being non-confrontational? Huh? I know! It is because the latter is harder to do.
  • One thing about this city, it makes you paranoid about insects; I mean all of them. The ones you would normally let whizz past, now you would be  questioning what their motives were, who had sent them, etc. You would be thinking in the line of, an insect squashed a possible life spared. Excerpts  from a conversation after I had wounded and captured a male anopheles  …

Me: Where is she? Tell me and I shall give you a quick death. Or else, I would pull out your legs one by one and …

Him: Man I already told you, I don’t know where she is! Last time I saw her was when she …

Me: When she what?

Him: Well, I was chilling by the flowers right; she asks me what I would be doing around ninish. Said we could have a couple of drinks and later

Me: Son of a

and   splat ! Those were his last words. He did not even get the chance to say that he had turned down the invitation.

And I don’t know what pissed me off more: the plan of a blood fest or the fact that female mosquitoes ask male mosquitoes out.

Man I wish I was a mosquito!

Alpha alert!

One

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. betty
    May 29, 2009 @ 16:31:15

    lol, I am glad to make you feel better,lol

    The T and the I defer, the T stands for Tilish, since we plan to visit Italy… the”I” goes with the sentence ” I hope…”

    I am loving the randomness of the name though.

    Reply

  2. tibebe
    May 29, 2009 @ 07:22:32

    That makes me feel much better😐

    Teferi = T….i. you brought it up !

    Reply

  3. betty
    May 27, 2009 @ 16:46:09

    and I would have you in any way fried, crispy, done…

    … water bored, nice tibe, nice..
    Who is Teferi?

    Reply

  4. betty
    May 20, 2009 @ 16:19:46

    frankly same here in ohio or in scotland as well… well in the end we all come back to what sammiye said..” people we meet from now on are not gonna be our friends but mere acquaintances…” and right he is…

    Reply

  5. tibebe
    May 19, 2009 @ 12:36:33

    and now you want to have me fried ?! some friend you are !

    i hear it’s raining in AdAb

    and one question i have not answered , i have not made new friends since coming to BaDa; and i don’t intend to.

    Reply

  6. betty
    May 17, 2009 @ 19:12:57

    well you know what your duty is as a seahorse… to fertilize and play mama(I donot know for how long) carrying the babies in your pouch… and if caught by fishermen in Australia.. you will be a fried delicacy… ummmm yummy Tibe…

    Reply

  7. tibebe
    May 17, 2009 @ 10:54:36

    i think tablets are suited for someone who comes here for a vacation. for natives like me, nets are recommended.

    comeon! i could have waterboarded the insect, but i didn’t.

    yeah i too have seen lions hunting elephants. but i think they are the only animals that could shake off a couple of lions like that mariah carey song and go about their businesses .

    so good choice t !

    me , i do not want to be any creature else .i enjoy being a seahorse.

    yearegahegne ena netsanet ” ere tey gubil ere tey shega”- so dope!

    betty, who is teferi?

    females, whatever species , so demanding! honest hard working insects drivien to the path of treachery just to satisfy a female’s needs.

    abet setoch, metnae!

    yih mamarer indian setochin aymeleketim

    Reply

  8. betty
    May 16, 2009 @ 22:49:46

    yeah Tilish, this was hilarious…
    The only song of Aregahegn worash that I remeber is ” enes bichegna negne zemedim yelegn..” the poor dude now has to compete with his son I hear… yeah his son is now ” zefagn or do they call it Azmari in BD..

    The conversation with the mosquito was kind of intersting… so have you won the title of ” sebat geday… I hope you know what i am talking about.

    global warming… it freaks me out to think about it.. mostly about all the water rising.. I do want to see venezia before it is all gone… hey T..I hope we get to go there.

    I am not so sure about being an elephant.. because they become a prey for lions when the wildebeast migrate.I have seen them being hunted and eaten…
    I would say be a Remora…a fish that spends its life time attached to a shark, the shark doesnot mind it and it feeds on whatever is left over from the feeding frenzy, no I take it back for obviouse reasons…

    ok I am a dork so I have more stories about insects… there is this insect, couldnot for the life of me remeber the name of it (it will get back to me some time ), any way during courting the male has to present some kind of sitota or “insect dowry”, only given to the female, not her parents…and it is another insect of a different species wrapped in a web they make (pretty much a yetashege yemote lela insect sitota) and if she likes it then he gets lucky.It is what Jeff calls amazing stuff… but it gets better. How?
    well there are ” leba or bilt, however you take it)male insects among their species. This one makes the sound the female makes and fools the other male into giving up his dowry.. and then finds a female, presents it and get lucky without any hard work.

    sounds fabricated but it is something I learned in Animal Behavior class…
    Enough channeling ye biology astemari..

    cheers

    Reply

  9. getere
    May 16, 2009 @ 21:44:40

    Ha ha! I was laughing out loud as I read your post. Hilarious. The mist of dust is worrying. I think the weather is getting warmer in Ethiopia. Last time I was there I was feeling too hot most of the time. Of course it could also be cause of the “diaspora” factor as Ade puts it. But still, I thought it was warmer than usual. I even check the temperature in Addis Ababa (one of the wonders of the iPhone…) and I see 31 C minamin. Endet new negeru.

    Global warming, yeah I don’t worry about it myself. I just do what I think is right. keza belay global warming meta biye almot.

    Funny about the insects. I remember some scary stories about weba. bichawama band gize new tset yemitaregih….Can’t you get some tablets for it or something?

    You interrupted him when he was talking. You torture when they refuse to talk. And if they refuse, you pull out their legs one by one – not splat them! It must really be the alpha complex. As a mosquito, just before you die you’d look back at all those 21 days and say “mts ye binbi neger, ya hulu sewunet lafer”. I think if I could be non-human, I’d like to be an elephant in the wild. No one is chasing my ass and I don’t kill anyone. I don’t think I could stand the slow pace of all the other elephants though. Move it, damn it! We have a **#@-ing country to cross.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
