79.Maremia,sort of

Generalization is but one of the many kinds of fuckery I be given to from time to time. Accordingly, I have been generalizing about life in BaDa and its people: characters, expenses wezete. And it has been troubling me.

Now I am not about to tell you that I was wrong, that the people are friendly and the living here is cheap. I am here to tell you about my experiences.

At Lemlemitu Gojam, I order key wot and the girl brings that and alicha wot in a small bowl. I say, you must be mistaken, I did not order this. But that is the way they do it and she goes on to add ergom ale yimtalih? You can choose between ergo and alicha wot and soup is served as a starter (or as my cook book would call it, kesate kers). The waitress and the overseer girl ask you min yichemer, minew albelahewim, … Price – 14 birr.

And their aynet  is aynet in all senses of the word: misir wot surrounded by a posse of 11, rolling 11 deep

Meanwhile, they were getting creative across town:

Imaxxgen002

I have bought stuff from nice shopkeepers and street vendors- one even gave me a complimentary candy. Many people call you gashie. I imagine that even the insults would be something like “Licho Gashie!

Three or four times I went to a particular café and they were playing Neway’s songs (the album before the last)

I have seen five or more scales.

______________________________________________________________________________

My first day in  in BaDa, I went to give fingerprints, part of the job formalities. All ten fingers had to be printed. I kept near-annoying the policewoman with my sweaty palms and undesired movements of the fingers. Ruined one form and the plate got wet.  Then she  says “set nekteh silematawik new aydel ? “  It was more of a statement than a question. And I was standing there: befucked, bothered and bewildered; thinking: “Damn  policewoman, you are good !! Which maseltegna did you go to ?” She did not even give thought to the possibility that my physiological changes could have been because I had killed three people before coming here.

Seriously Homo sapien, I kill you!

One

I love Ginbot and its winds.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tibebe
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 07:06:21

    the person who said that, tell him/her to go…,just tell him/her to go.

    Reply

  2. getere
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 21:11:49

    i know. “yalayut hager aynafikim” yalewun sewye shame asyazkew eko.

    Reply

  3. tibebe
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 14:13:09

    what i miss is things that i have never had😉

    Reply

  4. getere
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 18:21:16

    do you miss adisaba now Tibe?

    Reply

  5. tibebe
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 12:53:47

    maybe💡

    Reply

  6. tibebe
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 12:50:33

    yes❓

    Reply

  7. tibebe
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 07:37:23

    no

    Reply

  8. betty
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 18:38:48

    I even said you are awesome.
    you think?

    Reply

  9. tibebe
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 08:56:32

    All the home sickness… shut up guys ! i can’t stand your whining👿

    i know that was cruel🙂

    Reply

  10. betty
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 19:41:05

    ok I am back and for your info I was studying chem and society plus a lot of enviromental problems… come to think of it I should have “matnat” on Dinicho.

    The “KOKEB INJERA” part is real nice Tiliye…one time people used to cut injera diagonaly, I remeber cutting injeral like that myself but hating how it would make a mess on the plate once you put “wot” on it. But hey it was fun and great for decorative purposes.

    the police lady was funny,but knowing you… that was probably inappropriate in her part, ok I give you: I like your explanation better, but it reminded me of how I used make you uncomfortable and if I remember correctly Tilish used to enjoy watching you blush… good times I tell you, good times..

    Astenagaje ye agere sew… you know it is good to know that the humble nature of “habesha” people is not changed… I miss ” ye etiye teshomechin kitfo”… thank you again papiye, you are always awesome.

    Reply

  11. tibebe
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 12:44:36

    Told ya she was doing her studying right here ,on us😛

    Reply

  12. T
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 11:26:52

    she is on exams.

    Reply

  13. tibebe
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 07:41:16

    I know😥

    Lenegeru guwadegnaye bicha new yeneberew.

    Betty yet hedech ?

    Reply

  14. T
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 21:22:31

    mts. wendimen wendimen.

    Reply

  15. tibebe
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 14:08:21

    I was not alone with her. Besew fit eko new yawaredechigne😳

    Reply

  16. T
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 19:57:52

    Aww. I wish I was there to enjoy the food, the frank people, the weather, minu teterto yalkal. alcha wet yummy! ergom ale yimtalih? yes pleaaaase!! 14 birr is not bad considering the nuro meweded.

    what do they call that “kokebu enjera”? i like my injera nice and round but hey maybe someone out there likes it!

    the fingerprint! ROFL! she is good allright!

    a girl held your fingers and the two of you were alone for some time. let us leave out all the other small details and remember this as one of your best moments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
