89.Hats off !

Who said there was no art inside Tibebe’s crib?😡

Copy of Imagen003

😯

That is how people – Betty or T, for example -would react when they come to visit me and find out that I am in bed with the fairer sex. Not that I am into the sterner sex. It’s just that shit is way overdue; I have been talking the talk and not fucking the fuck. One of these hours I am going to go out on a limb and ask a girl benatsh, yezaren bicha kiberigne! wendim yeleshim woy?

So they would be surprised to find me in that state of affairs, and their hats would come off a la those cartoons.

The hats could also come off owing to admiration for the way I be handling biz:

“get in there son! don’t stop git it git it!!”

“…….I…am…. try…ing…”

Imagine if MTV Cribs came to my house (why they call it “music television” I just can’t get). Come through the door; make a sharp, immediate left and… “this is where it all happens; where it all goes down”

That is where I sit, eat, read, sleep, do crunches (gotta stay in shape :smile:) …

Actually nothing could go down over there. How can one control all the noise? The morning after people would be looking at you different.

Have you seen “He was a Quiet Man”?

Well, I could be that guy; and when reporters ask my landlord and lady about my behavior when I used to be  beatsede hiwot the  wife would say “ he was a quiet man; never made a sound…well, actually there was this one time when there was screaming in his room …”; husband says “honey, I think it was two nights….” ; reporter intercedes with an air of mathematical genius  “ so you are saying that when Tibebe was alive you heard him get loud on the average 1.5 times”;  in unison “yes, you can say that”

Lord I don’t want to be that guy who only got to be loud one and a half times!

So I am buying eggs and this kid goes “do you speak Amharic?” Premise: A man who goes up and down gebeya sporting  a backpack and an ecobag full of onions and what not must be a foreigner. I say “ferenj emeslalehu?” He persists with his English: “are you Habesha?”

I really do hope that he was teasing me and people take me for who I really am i.e. an Ethiopian male buying shinkurt. Otherwise, there is no knowing where these misconceptions about my identity could lead up to. There is a thin line between “ Yihes gobez new! Yerasun migb serto yibelal.” and “Yemanew alicha?! Wendoch  yemiwlubet bota ayiwilim ? Esti eyut , gay sayhon aykerim! ”. Next thing rumor spreads and, I would not be going out after dark for fear of having my ass violated.

That would be a great tragedy because:

  1. I am trying to be unkempt to a certain degree and this is the thanks I get?
  2.  One of the reasons I am trying my hand at  cooking  is that I had (read, heard people say, heard on TV/a movie, heard on the radio, had  dreamt  that)??? chicks dig a guy that can cook. And that’s why when I passed by that girl’s side on my way home yesterday, I held my bag up high  like “got tomatoes babe! Would you like to come over? :grin:”

I got ninety nine problems and counting. And all of them seem to be about girls.

One

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tibebe
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 08:00:24

    I used to think that it was pronounced “enug”.there was also a time that i suspected it to be “enaw” , that archaic slang for “friend”.

    and i had a tough time with “tough”. why couldn’t they have been plain simple “taf” and “enuf”?

    so you are not alone.

    come to think of it you and i must be related . i mean,we both hate physics, struggled with “enough”,…

    did you have trouble tying your shoe laces too?i know i did😳

    being unable to pronounce enough correctly could be a manifestation of our perfectionism. nothing is enough for us. so we refuse to pronounce it right…

    were you the anonymous i cussed at last time?😳😳

    i hate that kind of green.i’d rather black.

    tiz where are yooooooou ? or must we rename it to andtwo?

    Reply

  2. betty
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 12:53:18

    I keep forgetting to write my name and it posts as anonymous… I really love my name so the anonymous thing actually bothered me enough to write this…enough ( the word that got me excited when I was able to pronounce it in 6th grade… shut up you two, yeah it took me that long to pronounce it right.)

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Aug 01, 2009 @ 17:23:45

    well what do you think Tiye…. hmmmm…. I like the crib though… it has some how a homi feeling to it…but green isnot your color papiye.

    so now you are Ferengu… I actually discovered something in 4 kilo….

    there was this girl that worked in bio department and she was looking for me and asked some kids standing where ( the Gedlu statue stands.. I wonder if it is still there ) any way they respond back to her ” oh yachi fereng yemitimeslew lig”… she was confused and then realized they were talking about me when they pointed at me.

    so Ferengu who cooks for himself…. it is a nice label my dear…

    you should have finished the tomato sentence… we can make some salsa tonight?… do you fancy Salsa?… what do you think TIYE…which reminds me where has my wandering Scottish dissappeared to?.

    Donot worry papy, you are not alone in that I have all those problems and some much more but in my case… you know

    CIAO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
