Blame the west – whatever “the west” means

Yesterday I switched to a random channel. It was BBC showing a failed coup d’état (I can’t spell that phrase by the way, I had to copy it – can’t we just call it cdtat or something?). This black guy says there was no corruption before the west came, that even the word “corruption” came from the west. He kept a serious face when he said it and I’d say he is at least in his 40s. I don’t even understand what “the west” stands for. People forget that by bashing “white people” they are being racist themselves.

This reminds me of a comedy that I saw a while back. I’ll paraphrase.

Frustrated Customer: “Is it because I am black?”
Owner: “No. You are not even black!”

Frustrated Customer probably saw a black guy pulling this one off and thought he’d give it a go.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. betty
    Dec 07, 2009 @ 13:54:52

    I am loving my avatar now… the name is octopedalis…

    Reply

  2. betty
    Dec 05, 2009 @ 18:17:50

    ok… still tewzagibealehu… where do I log in?…

    Reply

  3. betty
    Dec 05, 2009 @ 18:12:31

    “erebody”….lol papiye… but it is your fault… the nomadic life style suites us I guess.. but is it fair to ” mawkakat” me?.. is it because I am black?…

    On another note though… I aggree with you Tiye.. when things fail it is always easier to blame the other person… and the lack of hard work in most developing countries is killing their economy and instead of trying to solve it they resort to ways of minimizing their guilt…..

    ok totaly unrelated…
    uhhh… my boss just came in and gave me my bonus…. awesome…. but it also means no raise for me for the new year.. hey it donot matter as long as I have the two of you with me… Emmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmuaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

    Reply

  4. tibebe
    Dec 05, 2009 @ 09:48:05

    it is erebody´s fault

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
