Christmas presents urgently needed

I always forget to buy Christmas presents. I can’t be blamed. We don’t have that in Etopia.

I still feel bad when people give me presents and I don’t have anything to give in return.

So yesterday I was meeting a Scottish family which I feel part of. I was looking for presents the day before (started too late) but couldn’t find anything. I don’t know how but I somehow convinced myself to go to bed. As if the what-present-to-give problem will go away by itself the next morning. So I got up the next morning, a bit late, buses stopped working so I was going to be even more late, and on top of it I had to use my precious minutes to produce a present from any material I can get hold of in my flat. So after about 10 minutes of cursing myself and putting the room up side down in search for a stack of Ethiopia postcards (with no luck), I finally got a picture. It was a picture of my aunt’s daughter (yes, yes, there is probably a word for it but i won’t bother visiting the dictionary) getting baptized. The baby was cute and it showed Ethiopian Orthodox practices. It had number 16 written at the back and note in Amharic that my aunt wrote. But I was out of options so I wrote a Merry Christmas note at the back of it, and started searching for an envelope. Yeah, that was just as hard. Finally got a business envelope (I don’t think anyone on Earth got a Christmas card inside those kind). So to make the long story short (don’t you hate it when people say this AFTER they have made the story long?) I arrived at the church 20 minutes late.

They liked the “card” though. I could have done better by putting it in decent envelope and carrying it in a bag while I went to church (it got a bit creased). They are like a newly found family so the new child being baptized made some sense.

I am so embarrassed that for next year I have decided to get presents way way before Christmas. Merry Christmas and thank God we are all ok, simply worrying about presents.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tibebe
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 14:06:24

    i am glad you don’t have any of my pictures. and if you do, i beg you

    you would be giving them as a present saying “we have the caaste system just like india. the individual you see here is a member of the wezgaba caste. it is a bit hard to explain in engllish…”

    you monster!

    and christmas was not when jesus was born. it used to be some pagan festival. i think jc was a gemini. he was weak and powerful all at the same time – the quintessential example of the double personality that geminis possess.

    and please read this, from slaughterhouse five:

    The visitor from outer space made a serious study of Christianity, to learn, if he could,why Christians found it so easy to be cruel. He concluded that at least part of the trouble was slipshod storytelling in the New Testament. He supposed that the intent of the Gospels was to teach people, among other things, to be merciful, even to the lowest of the low. But the Gospels actually taught this: Before you kill somebody, make absolutely sure he isn’t well connected. So it goes.

    The flaw in the Christ stories, said the visitor from outer space, was that Christ, who didn’t look like much, was actually the Son of the Most Powerful Being in the Universe. Readers understood that, so, when they came to the crucifixion, they naturally thought, and Rosewater read out loud again: Oh, boy-they sure picked the wrong guy to lynch that time! And that thought had a brother: ‘There are right people to lynch.’ Who? People not well connected. So it goes.

    The visitor from outer space made a gift to Earth of a new Gospel. In it, Jesus really was a nobody, and a pain in the neck to a lot of people with better connections than he had. He still got to say all the lovely and puzzling things he said in the other Gospels. So the people amused themselves one day by nailing him to a cross and planting the cross in the ground. There couldn’t possibly be any repercussions, the lynchers thought. The reader would have to think that, too, since the new Gospel hammered home again and again what a nobody Jesus was. And then, just before the nobody died, the heavens opened up, and there was thunder and lightning. The voice of God came crashing down. He told the people that he was adopting the bum as his son giving him the full powers and privileges of The Son of the Creator of the Universe throughout all eternity. God said this From this moment on, He will punish horribly anybody who torments a bum who has no connections!

    Reply

  2. betty
    Dec 27, 2009 @ 19:59:04

    ok now my avatar looks like a hen whose feather protein organization went crazy… if that even makes sense…

    Reply

  3. betty
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 16:14:33

    hey tiye… I was laughing.. thank you for making my day….sorry to get a kick out of your situation… but I rummaging through your apartment shows me that you care and for me that is what matters….
    ok…. one tip if you start late is …. just get them a gift card… they can always get what they want…. but I like yours … it has more personal meaning….

    I hate it as well when I get presents from people that I know but not that close to me… mainly because I may not remember and give them back every year.. so to cut the trend.. I donot give them anything and they will stop after that time.. or so far it has been like that…

    Here we only celebrate the American christmas by giving gifts and gathering around and talking… and we do this secret friend think where we draw names out of a basket and we only give gifts to that someone… which is awesome because you donot spend a lot of money… yordi, adduka, elz, bezi, Emu and Hayat used to do that every Ethiopian christmas at 4 kilo.. I miss them a lot……

    and we all get gifts to Nahom and Emanuel….they get a lot of stuff and the house looks like a shredder machine has gone crazy in the living room after they are done opening their gifts.. mostly toys but Auntie betty always gets them a book…I am trying to start a tradition with them … getting them books every American christmass….

    I cannot wait untill our chirstmas comes along.. I wish I could go to church on the same day but I know I have class… it is one of the main things I miss about being back home.. going to church, celebrating the birth of chirst and enjoying every moment of it….and I like that it is a celebration of chirst being born not a celebration of gift giving… and it is more than perfect….

    Love you both….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
