Dope songs about dope Etyopians

My favorite song at the moment! The entire VCD is estupendo; makes you wanna get up and …

I have fucked with Agewigna music since way back, ever since the asheshewmele  and akelateyi (nefsuan yimarewina) days.

And that girl from the tewezawazoch, the one with the Key shash- man she done asheshewmeled her way into my heart! I think I’m in love.

Very educational too. I never knew that Dondor café was named after a waterfall in Chagni. I always felt that it was where the Ethiopian mafia hangout. And who knew that the Agew had sebat bet, just like the Gurage?

 The resemblance to ye Wolaytigna chifera, uncanny!

You have to see the whole thing!

You could say this particular VCD is balehulet ahaz

One day I had the misfortune of watching ETv. They were doing a report on the Teddy Afro concert and reporterachin egele egele goes, roughly:  “ Hagerachin Etyopia lalefut ametat balehulet ahaz yeeconomy edget sitasmezegib endeneber yitaweKal. Honom, yetewesenu wegenochin kedihinet lemalaKeK  altechalem. Lezihm yimeslal🙂 tawakiw dimTSawi Tewodros Kasahun weym Teddy Afro “belimena menor yibKa”  yemil ye musica zigijit…

So why not bestow the title balehulet ahaz upon anything as remotely smashing as our sweaty economy?

Or else I could use about a hundred words of praise about the music and put an exclamation mark at the end- the way they write the slogans on the first page of Addis Zemen or the walls of some offices. If I were them, I would have put not an exclamation mark at the end but a tiny dump truck. Or better still, a garbage truck.

One

Tilish, you see I have adopted the “Etyopia”.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 19:52:19

    Nice happy song. You’re right, it’s one you can readily dance too🙂

    I wish I could see ETV from here. Go ahead and laugh.

    New year’s eve today. Blog about Edinburgh Hogmanay coming soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
