Ethiopian songs on Spotify

Here are some nice songs I found on Spotify.

Aster Aweke – Aster’s Ballads

Aster Aweke – Fikir

Aster Aweke – Hagere Ebolale 🙂

Aster Aweke – Suger

Abiyou Solomon – In Search Of My Roots Vol. 1 – I found this album today when I searched for “Gurage”. The second track “Shegul Lelawo”, track 6 “Kelela New Betu”, track 10 “Ethiopia 2000” I like most.

Alemayehu Eshete – Addis Ababa – This dude is one of my favorite artists. Not to list the whole track here, I’ll just mention Ambassel.

Dawit Mellesse – Anchin New (You Are The One) Ayisemashim, Diresh Kedega

Dawit Mellesse – Andiken Astawisishalehu (come to think of it Amharic squeezes a full sentence in a single word)

Dawit Mellesse – Lottery Lottery!

Ethiopiques – Best Of Éthiopiques, L’âge D’or De La Musique Éthiopienne – Bob Marley (very funny Azmari song that imitates Bob Marley’s “Don’t worry”), Temeles is also another funky song our parents used to party with.

Kuku Sebsibe – Geezze

Henock Mehari – True Love

Hiruth Girma – Hiruth

Mahmoud Ahmed – Live In Paris

Mahmoud Ahmed – The Best Of… Tizita Vol. 1 – What else but Tizita.

Mahmoud Ahmed – The Best Of… Tizita Vol. 2

Martha Ashagari – Child’s Love (Ye-Lij Fikir)

Mulatu Astatke – Inspiration Information 3 Esketa Dance, An Epic Story

Mulatu Astatke – New York – Addis – LondonThe Story of Ethio Jazz 1965-1975 Mulatu (listen with care!), Ayferam Game Ayferam (spelled “I Faram Gami I Faram” in the album)

Pan Electric – Ethiopia EP (Dreadzone Remix is nice I thought)

Theodros Kassahun – Teddy

Theodros Tadesse – Zimita – Ketemaw!

Various Artists – The Ethiopian Millennium Collection – Dance

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 17:06:39

    long due! give it to me and i’ll throw it to tibe once it gets too old to be used.

    Reply

  2. betty
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 20:39:28

    you know what TIye.. I got you a present last time I was in chicago, [ wow… feels like ages ago] and never got around to mailing it since I am lazy… but your post reminded me of why I thought of you when I saw it in chicago. I will mail it if I can or we have to wait untill May I guess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
