insulting your intelligence (for only 50 birr a year)

Now, I don’t own a TV.  I don’t intend to own a TV anytime soon – it is number 2834 on my list of priorities. But every now and then, I get exposed: when I am at my friend’s, go home for the holidays or am eating out at some place. And I get to see and hear some amazing stuff.

On the news, they were reporting that the amount of VAT collected has shown significant increase over the last few years but even that, was not enough. To corroborate their story they made me listen to a snippet from the answer which this repatriated traditional restaurant owner gave to their queries. I swear these were his words: “ beña hager yalew yeVAT tax asebaseb bizu yiqerewal. wich hager sewoch besihtet tax kalkefelu rasachew police eskemetrat yemidersubet huneta new yalew” !!!!!……..???……. some more of that !!!!!

I am not well versed on extraetiopic matters so tell me (those of you who are) – does stuff like this really happen?

Some other things I need to get off my chest:

  • I fear (yeseitan joro aysmana) WordPress would be blocked come these elections. How time flies?! I can’t believe that  it has been four years since Blogspot was blocked.
  • In the interval when the regular students leave and the winter students have not yet returned (or vice versa), the park on the way to the department is quite peaceful. I am looking forward to sitting on a concrete bench, with not a soul in sight, and reading some nice books.
  • You know the place in front of the Menelik palace where the minibuses coming from haya hulet make an exit for tourist hotel. There is a small garden there and you could catch – after school hours – kids showing off their acrobatic skills.
  • One of the little (very) girls in the neighborhood used to say hi to me and it used to make me feel so good. Because you know that she has no ulterior motives or is not doing it just to get it over with. Then she suddenly stopped and now acts like she does not even recognize me. Whatever happened to “it takes a village to raise a child”, huh? Her family must watch a lot of police program anyway.
  • I seem to have forgotten a couple of things. My chest still feels a bit heavy.
  • Yes! I got it! The dust from Sudan from last year was back. Bahir Dar was shrouded in its haze for a couple of days.
  • No, that was not it👿 still heavy.
  • There is nothing worse than a barber that just would not shut up. And I have seen my fair share of those. But  last time,  I encountered the barber after my own heart.

Please read the following from The Plague – Albert Camus

Since plague became in this way some men’s duty, it revealed itself as what it really was; that is, the concern of all.

 

So far, so good. But we do not congratulate a schoolmaster on teaching that two and two make four, though we may, perhaps, congratulate him on having chosen his laudable vocation. Let us then say it was praiseworthy that Tarrou and so many others should have elected to prove that two and two make four rather than the contrary; but let us add that this good will of theirs was one that is shared by the schoolmaster and by all who have the same feelings as the schoolmaster, and, be it said to the credit of mankind, they are more numerous than one would think—such, anyhow, is the narrator’s conviction. Needless to say, he can see quite clearly a point that could be made against him, which is that these men were risking their lives. But again and again there comes a time in history when the man who dares to say that two and two make four is punished with death.

 

The schoolteacher is well aware of this. And the question is not one of knowing what punishment or reward attends the making of this calculation. The question is that of knowing whether two and two do make four. For those of our townsfolk who risked their lives in this predicament the issue was whether or not plague was in their midst and whether or not they must fight against it.

 

from the guys who brought you muz bezinjibil. muz is proving to be highly workable. and if you are wondering why almost every photo i take is on a green background, that is my table. yep! i have one table, two chairs ( one is a three seater😛 ), many other things in twos like i was Noah getting into his ark, and no tv. call me the minimalist. my friend had to try hard in order to convince me to buy another mug. i just did not see the point in both of us having coffee at the same time. it was unnecessary like double spellings.  like a good host, i could have waited until he was finished, washed the mug, … but he was too stubborn.

one

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tibebe
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 14:19:27

    i have made one addition to the list of things that were on my chest. if you care to check it out…

    Reply

  2. getere
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 21:30:41

    I also call the council (mazegaja) if I think I should have been asked to pay more. I’m afraid it’d accumulate over years and I’d get into a huge debt when they suddenly figure it out! Others probably do it for the same reason. I’d still pay my taxes even if they forgot about it completely. But I’m relatively better off.

    I think this election will be less bloody than the previous one. I hope they leave it accessible. We can move the blog to my domain if need be.

    Where is that garden and where is Menelik palace?

    Little girl: Oh there is that nice guy.
    Nice guy [thinking]: I need to correct those papers. I can then blog about zeritu. But first I need to eat something….
    Little girl [smiling]: Here he comes, here comes
    Nice guy [thinking]: So I’ll go home first, get my eco bag to hide my erections….
    Little girl [blushing]: He ignored me! Abet abet yesew neger kahun behwala…..

    The story is too complicated for me to understand. A friend compares me with one of those small fish that have a 30 second attention span. Please do understand my constraints.

    Minimalist is good. One mug is enough. But I don’t know what you were thinking when you bought two chairs. Noh took two because it takes two sexes to make a baby.

    Reply

    • bettiye...
      Mar 28, 2010 @ 14:33:03

      Income tax… you know I have been here a while and never really understood the commercials that in one way or the other say..let us help you with the IRS when income taxes are not filed….

      I mean I file taxes… and at the end of the day, I get money back, why wouldnot people file their taxes?… but never bothered with it untill “he” asked me…

      the thing is people here cheat and not pay taxes to begin with, so when the time comes to file income tax, they just ignore it but it is only a matter of time before IRS get to them. So it is better to just pay your taxes, because fines will be the least of your problem, there will be jail and criminal charges…yayks…

      I hope and pray this time the election it will be less bloody.

      I have been trying to picture the ways from hayahulet and tourist hotel: there are two ways. There is one that comes behind hilton hotel, and there is another one that comes from behind Faculty of Science, but couldnot remember which palace was Minilik’s palace… seriously it is driving me nuts. I mean Tiye doesnot bizu mengedoch..( you know I am right Tiye)… but I thought I knew.

      The scenario about the Little girl is funny Tiye…that could possibly be the case or not.

      The Plague is sort of “wusibsib” for me and I like how Aristotle and his fellow philosophers thought, but then again to be a good philosopher, you have to think outside, outside of the box( a deliberate and necessary double “outside” ).

      I would like to meet the friend who thought that TIye?.. because…

      Tiye, “Two chairs” is good incase… oh you never know when luck strikes and to use the words I am hearing a lot lately… he might get lucky.

      Reply

      • tibebe
        Mar 31, 2010 @ 13:16:59

        Come on guys! Come o ! She is 3 years old max. The fuck is wrong withchu?👿

        FYI i carry the ecobag around in my backpack; no need to go back home.

        But again, the hell is wrong with you?

        I may be desperate but come on!

        What in the name of the good Lord is wrong with you?

        Moving on…

        So none of you dummies knows where Menelik’s palace is? Yemigerim neger new!
        Loved the “outside, outside of the box”. I don’t get philosophy. The reason I posted the excerpt from the plague is because I think I may have understood it, understood it like “the right thing is doing the right thing regardless of the consequences”

        By getting lucky do you mean that I could get laid on the three seater? That would have been great; but we (the unlucky girl and I) would end up having splinters in our asses – the chair is made out of bamboo.

        so tilish : you keep on forgetting stuff, have a limited attention span and are out of your mind. But we are your friends and we love you no matter what. We are going to help you pass this rough patch you seem to be going through (I pray, that it is not permanent).

        We have started this blog for better or for worse. Min yideregal!?

        Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
