Thank you wikipedia

Today I went to a gathering of Jehovah’s  Witnesses. It was my first time to do so. Tonight was a special one, called “Memorial”. It’s a yearly event where the death of Jesus is remembered. Bread and wine was passed around. Now here is the thing. Many Jehovah’s witnesses don’t take the bread and wine because they think they have earthly hope. Only a few who see themselves as having heavenly hope take it. So much that only 0.056% [1] of them took the bread and wine in 2006. Can you imagine how embarrassed I would have been if I took it? But thanks to wikipedia, I was browsing about for “teklala ewket” when I stumbled upon this information. Yes, I did sit in the back because I arrived late [2] and so I had the chance to observe that no one took it except only a few [3]. But still, given my short attention span which is even going shorter by the day, I would have taken it if I hadn’t visited wikipedia on time.

As I had previously ranted, wikipedia can be biased. But heck, it’s less biased than controlled encyclopedias such as Encyclopedia Britannica can ever get.

Now go read about Etopia, the best city in the world Addis Ababa, the business woman Sophia Bekele, how Experimental Learning can be better than class room learning and the many Notable Oromo. And next time you hit your head against a hard problem go through the list of Problem Solving Techniques. Consider your problem solved already.

[1] Why can’t you just believe me?
[2] What can I say, I am abesha
[3] They probably didn’t know, poor chaps.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 22:19:04

    oh yes, i remember you 🙂

    lions playing with people. it’s one more point i can’t explain about the Bible. what recently bugged was how the Bible refers to a group of people as the chosen people. it took me a while to give myself a convincing explanation (i don’t accept that idea now).

    buddha book, cool stuff.

    i guess none of the writers knew her date of birth. if you do, add it.

    Reply

  2. tibebe
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 14:35:47

    tilish remember me? it is tibebe. from high school, college and andthree? no?

    i am posting a comment on the article you posted on our blog ( yes, we do have a blog )titled “thank you wikipedia”

    what?

    i told you that i was tibebe 😡

    on the pamphlet the Jehovah’s Witnesses hand out, i read that heaven was supposed to be on earth (when the time comes). that is why they have lions playing with children on those wonderfully colored pictures of theirs.

    the pamphlet had an interesting verse from the Beatitudes – Blessed are the gentle, for they shall inherit the earth. ❓

    i am thinking of reading the book buddha by deepak chopra

    why is sophia bekele’s date of birth not stated on wikipedia?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
