yiluñta

They got this new waitress who is, you know, hot. A waiter takes my order and she brings the order. I steal furtive glances her way in between gurshawoch, pretending to watch Oprah.  Okay, the glances were not as furtive as could be cuz one time I made her drop a towel; yay!

Other females are sitting next to me. When she took their order they told her that she was qonjo. She giggled and went away to bring them their shit. They continued discussing that females should tell other females when they are beautiful; and how, most of the time, this is interpreted as jealousy while in reality it was a positive thing to be done more often. They even mentioned the case of one janitor who was “too beautiful” for the job.

Here is the pickle, at least for me.

I have now finished my lunch and want to pay. I give a (nominal) tip every time I go to the place. It being the administration café, I am not sure if giving tips is many people’s wont. The times they have seen me give tips, people may have went “if you, asshole, want to show off,  go to the cafes outside campus!” If it was the guy who took my order or the other regular waitresses, I could have given it, no problem. But when I signal to him, he ends up sending her, damn! So now I have to give the money to the new beauty and under the watchful eyes of four or so ladies. What must I do? If I don’t give the tip, it would be going against my policy which clearly states that I should “do little things every now and then although they won’t lessen the burden of proof of your jerkhood”. And if I do give her the tip, then it may look like – to her and the watchers – that I am soliciting in my own little ways.

At the end of the day, policies triumph; I give the tip and extract myself from the eatery, jimmy and all.

One

  • Is it wrong to stand up and greet people when they happen on us while we are eating? Which one deserves more respect, humans or food? Could this be the reason why we have become a nation of hodamoch, where food is hard to come by and people are treated like shit?
  • Ain’t no place like rock bottom – once you are there, there is nothing left for you to do but get higher. Will try to clarify with graphs on my next post.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    May 28, 2010 @ 20:07:26

    by natural selection we must be “more beautiful” than people who lived 1000 years back.

    Reply

  2. Maki
    May 11, 2010 @ 16:54:40

    Rachel,from the popular TV series Friends, will disagree with you on your last sentence, “….. I really thought I had hit rock bottom, but today it’s like there’s rock bottom, then 50 feet of crap then me.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
