* ¡Feliz cumpleaños! *

I find these words in Amharic, English or in his own language sometimes in my inbox, or whispered to me, or actually one time he told everyone that he was looking for me and I found him sitting in front of a computer studying.

betty: ” Hey, were you looking for me?”

He says,  ” No, who told  you that?.. but since you are here, here you go”… he hands me a disket ( well we were still using a disket then.. yeah that is how old we are.. did I even spell it right?)…. any way…

betty: ” what is this?”

He says, ” take it  and read what it says”….he smiles and gets back to  his studying.

I open it and a document in my name reads more or less like this….

Hey Wezgabit , I know you are a very caring person, but most people don’t know it, and the world cares less, but you are wonderful, your love is wonderful and may it be as contagious as HSR1….. because we need it… and may you have a lot more birthdays so that you will need a fire extinguisher to blow out the candles and I hope to be there for all of them. Happy birthday…

I wanted to cry, he was the first one to remember, but more than that he always knows how to make my day.  I looked back to see what he was doing and true to himself  he had continued studying. I went back to him and hugged him.

That is the way he has always been, I loved sitting next to him when we studied. He always has something to say to make me laugh; to make me wonder about the world; to make me strong and to calm me down. The only one who never pushes me away even when I am being annoying, well honestly I can say that about all of them, but he is special. I loved watching games or movies with him, I loved trying on his shoes… ok I am getting out of script here so moving on…..

For the most part, I go to the three of them every time things go bad,  but he knows how to turn things around, use a metaphor, sometimes magic but always humor to make me forget even if it is for a day or so, then he finds a way to make me deal with my problems.

These past 3 and 10 months have been sort of lonely without him( Don’t get me wrong, I miss all of them but this entry is just for him).. I miss laughing at his jokes ( well he has this serious face when he telling jokes that makes it even more funny), I miss looking at a face that calms me down when I feel like the world is conspiring against me ( yeah, if you know me, then you know I get paranoid at times.. and when he is reading this.. he would say ” sometimes?”), but more than that  I miss the face that always lets me know that he loves me no matter what and he will always have my back.

And to let you know my dear… we get better as we get older like fine wine and even if we don’t get better, we at least get to drink wine,…... and know that I got your back always.

* ¡Feliz cumpleaños! * my wonderful, awesome, adorable and lovable friend.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. betty
    May 30, 2010 @ 14:19:00

    well he is one in a million…no I take that back.. he is one of his own kind.

    Reply

  2. tibebe
    May 30, 2010 @ 12:47:55

    Whoever it may be that she is babbling about, happy birthday! You sound like a stand up guy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
