Sewyew? Word?!

I am going home people, and you done know how that goes – hopes and fears.

Can’t say too much about the past year except maybe for, if it had kept up the pace it began with, we could have been sitting pretty on Hidar 2003 by now. It kind of lost steam midway I guess. Anyway, for better or worse, in health and sickness, a new year is at the door and we should usher it in – it is not like we have  a choice.

One of the things that have been bugging me recently is the way some people refer to me as sewyew. In my head I have always been – and by God I will always be – liju and when I  come home to the occasional bolted door I reply “ezih bet yeminorew lij!” to their “manew?” (16 months and some members of the family still don’t know my name! North Korea ain’t got shit on me!). But I mean, whatever; everyone is entitled to their opinions. And I guess the years don’t go by for no reason.

The other thing is/was the way the condoms are kept in the guards’ booth at the gate. Who in their right mind would want to help themselves to condoms from a guards’ booth? Think about it: they may even ask you for ID and shit. The problem seems to be half-solved at the moment however – the camisinhas have been transferred to a minimum security spot.

Third thing that has been worrying me is the greetings -Ethiopian greetings. All the “selam neh/nesh” and the no “Egziabher yimesgen” and don’t get me started on the “tikesha magechachet” which I happen to hate so but just cannot stop doing, sometimes out of imagined obligation. A not-so-firm hand shake for the guys and a big wet one for the ladies would have sufficed. But no! We have to keep on rubbing onto each other like sheep with scrapie.

When I say “Egziabher yimesgen”, I am talking about the heartfelt one which I for one do not practice. I am talking about the one that has its origins in having understood that each day is a blessing and that heaven is a frame of mind that is precipitated (in a good way) by the simple things that we choose to ignore everyday in our never-ending pursuit of that thing. Okay, I will stop that right now because I have got no clue what I am talking about. No, really, I am not trying to be modest! I don’t know what the fuck I am talking about.

The fact remains that I would like egziabher yimesgen to make a comeback. Just say it, dammit! And mean it mofo! Don’t fake this one for Chrissake, the way you go about your life faking damn near everything else!

And lo! A new year’s resolution starts to take form in the background, ladies and gentlemen! I will try to be real in thought, speech, action and everything in between, so help me God! Of course, this is in addition to the perennial resolution of letting Jimmy see the beautiful light of night or else let it bask in the not-so-beautiful light of day a.k.a go stark raving mad.

It is a week away but still, Melkam Enqutatash!

One year down!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tibebe
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 18:07:16

    Reply

  2. tibebe
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 15:04:19

    great! now the girls have taken to rubbing shoulders with the guys (by way of greeting i mean)😮

    Reply

  3. tibebe
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 13:58:43

    hey i said melkam enqutatash not enkuan aderesachihu.👿

    Reply

  4. getere
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 10:17:12

    sewyew is fine. it’s informal and friendly no? be worried when they call you ato or gashe.

    camisinhas?

    how about putting it in toilets where people can take some without worrying about anyone seeing them? they’ll probably run out at a faster pace but that’s the aim anyway – for someone to use it.

    yeah it’s either you rub onto each other like sheep with scrapie or you say “thank you” and “sorry” every other second in the UK or pay 10 dollars for every step you take in the US or …. we should go and form our own society like that guy in Bahir Dar, what was his name?

    enkuan abro aderesen! desta bedesta yihunilin!

    Reply

  5. bettye
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 14:58:46

    AMEN enquan abro aderesen…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
