second encounters

Met that lady  again;  and again,  I was striking the same pose; now on the steps of the administration building. So she, seeing my plight, decided to hook me up with her daughter. But there was a catch. She wanted to know what my religion was. I told her, “a bit of everything” and that the one religion with the most beautiful heaven can come claim me. I then told her the religion i go by and but tried to explain that i don’t want this religion, or any other for that matter, to define who I am. I am a human being, finito! And that I was trying to be a man of faith.

She didn’t find my way of thinking to be normal.With references to stories of other pretenders who had tried to woo her daughter (and failed for the aforementioned reason), she said goodbye and I did the same.

It was like the battle of the big P’s:  principles Vs pu…  and i was rooting for the latter.

One

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 23:34:31

    Tibe: so what’s new?

    NeverEver: thanks for visiting us🙂 The analysis is more lie Beth leflafi (sorry Beth) Tibe tesfa bis (sorry Tibe but wait till you hear mine, we can exchange if you want) and Tilish leza bis. You can start blogging too, just for the heck of it (we’ll be the first subscribers!). I think Tibe and myself started separate blogs by our names, we then eventually moved to here.

    My wish for this blog had always been to have posts that can interest a larger number of people rather than just three close friends (not that I don’t like our close friendship!). I also wish we had more authors. Another friend, Aemro, used to post here. He’s too busy with real life now….

    Reply

    • bettiye
      Apr 21, 2011 @ 01:01:18

      Leflafi… hahh… well yelibin tenagro yikirta alu abiye zergaw… but I know it is an act, My papy has never been or will ever be labeled as tesfa bis, as for your own evaluation of your self I couldnot agree more. And one mastekakeya, Tibe and I started our own blog, then we decided to adopt you. I am glad we did though, ye blog dirket yimetan neber at some point in time

      But I agree with Tiye, Never ever you are always welcome to post here, but I want to know more about you before you do so since there are people that Tiye doesnot know who read this blog,….

      Reply

    • tibebe
      Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:31:08

      No exchanging! I want both “tesfa bis” and “leza bis”. Wait a minute, I want “leflafi” too.

      Reply

  2. tibebe
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 09:53:30

    It is very humbling to know that people other than us three take time to read this blog; and that they apparently know us so well.

    Thank you very much! I (and almost certainly we) approve like crazy.

    Never ever leave us!

    Reply

  3. NeverEver
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 23:01:08

    I stumbled on this blog by chance when I … just for the heck of it … googled “Egziabher Yimesgen!” I couldn’t help but read through most of your postings. I hope, I’m not intruding …… Do I sense the “Three Musketeers” kinda thing goin on up in here?
    “None of your bigness!” I know … I just thought I would ask.

    I’m glad this is just a blog & I’m not looking at you three in person, or else, like Tibebe said, … not just my tongue, but my whole stand will be up to its usual “shenanigans … making U-turns & $h!t” LooL … BTW, that was funny, Tibebe.

    Well, I just thought I tell you guys how blessed you are for having this thing going between the three of you. Betty, I (and also most of my Ethiopian friends in the US) had felt so much like you do every now & then (on your blog at least🙂 but it helps a lot that you’re open and express it the way you do. I wish I did so when I was in college but there was no one that I communicated with regularly that was going through similar situations in a life parallel to mine at the time. Your post about your upbringing, and your family teared me up … just like I do every time I listen to Gigi’s ‘Nafekegne’.

    Tilaye, I wonder how you have this consistent aura of maturity & refrain of a big brother in all your blogs (that is a compliment). It is nice to have your type in the mix! Each of you have a character stamp on your blog. Betty: Love & Compassion, Tibebe: Humor & Irony lacerated with poignant realities, Tilish: subtly Wise, either Postive, or Neutral. I could be wrong but this is what I picked on … as I read🙂

    Nuf said! … whether you approve or not … am Sold! ‘Am a Fan!

    ~Never~ever~

    Reply

    • bettiye
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 21:38:34

      Dear Never Ever,
      Thank you for taking the time a read the blog, we appreciate it. Well they can tell you if what you think about me is right. I can tell you tibe has an amazing sense of humor, it was one of the things that drew me to him among other things.You might also find this surprizing, but Tibe is also the wisest among the three of us. Tiye, well he is true to himself, being wise is one of his best qualities and it took me like a year to figure him out but more than that he has a kind heart and that is one of the things that drew me to him. There are so many friends in the group and all of them have their own characters that they bring into the mix and we are lucky because we managed to tolerate eachother all these years and love one another.

      As for me, well I am kind of lonely living out here without the two of them, they are my number 1 fans and I am lucky because they believe they are phyllum cnidaria (jelly fish ) without me or atleast that is what I tell myself.

      Thank you again, and keep visiting us…
      betty

      Reply

      • tibebe
        Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:24:53

        Come now Bettiye! Sure I get my Yoda on now and then; but i don’t think that makes me worthy of the title “the wisest”. the truth is that between the three of us, we make a human being of decent wisdom.

        I think we have been far too indulging to this Never Ever character. A single comment and poof! It has disappeared. Maybe we got a big clingy. But as things stand, it is no different from all the other one post/comment wonders who have graced this here blog.

        Maybe we should have treated it with ice-cold nonchalance like “Ok”

        All these aliases got me thinking if you are a criminal.

        Reply

        • getere
          Apr 28, 2011 @ 20:26:31

          I think we were quite welcoming actually. But who would want to read about someone’s complaint, someone’s failed sex life or someone’s imaginary friends? Ok maybe not that bad but posts in this blog are mostly meant for friends. If I came across a blog like this and I read something interesting, I’d comment somewhere – just as NeverEver did. But I don’t think I’ll be interested in following them.

          Kathy Sierra, one of my favourite bloggers (she’s not blogging now though, sadly) has a nice blog post about successful blogs http://bit.ly/m32sIf. One of her points is a blog should not be about the blogger. I completely agree with it because all the blogs I subscribe to are blogs where people talk about something interesting to me. If I see a bunch of sentences going in the direction of explaining the blogger’s personal experience or thoughts for no good reason then I start scanning the post for interesting things. I think other people do the same too.

          I’m not saying we should change our blogging style. We should all post whatever we want to. I just wanted to point out that it’s not a surprise no one is following us.

          I also think the “About andthree” box at the end of post is unnecessary. We know who we are. New comers can click on “About” to know who the bloggers are. This (clicking on About) is the de-facto standard of learning about a blog. If someone could tie Tibe’s hand for a while I’d also remove the “as we enter” post.

          Reply

          • tibebe
            Apr 29, 2011 @ 07:29:02

            yo don’t look at me! i did not put the “about andthree” at the end of each post. i thought you did it. maybe it was brought on by the change in theme. i will look into it.

            as far as “as we enter” goes, touch it and you are dead👿 Most of the comments in there don’t make sense at the moment, but it carries our logo man!

            i agree about people not wanting to read about my failed sex life. but that seems to be the only topic i am well versed on so as to write a few words on. so, suck it errbody!

            Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
