Afropop.org, Spotify and the CIA

I used Spotify from 2009. I previously talked about Ethiopian songs on Spotify. The list has probably grown since then (although at times I have noticed songs that used to be available were no longer). As most users of Spotify, I was annoyed by their decision to force people into paying. I liked the songs-followed-by-adverts model. The adverts weren’t too long and a good number of them were local adverts, and unlike many adverts I see everywhere some of them were actually of interest to me (eg. live music shows in Scotland).

Last week I forgot my Spotify running overnight and burnt my ten hours quota (at least that’s my explanation for why my quota was all gone the next morning). I had a deep thought about it and went to their website to pay for membership expecting to pay the pound equivalent of 5 dollars, only to find out 5 dollars translate to 5 pounds in Spotify Land.

So I looked elsewhere for songs. I am now hooked up with afropop.org. I love the presenter. The songs are awesome songs, mostly African and Latin. The Cumbia genre, Fidel Nada’s feel good reggae, Toubab’s Krewe‘s electrified Mali music, the possibilities are endless.

I have to thank Spotify though. Thanks to it I have discovered great songs and musicians. The polish band Novika, the Malian Ali Farka Toure, more great songs of Salif Keita, Imogen Heap and Armin Van Buuren,  to name some.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    May 13, 2011 @ 19:08:30

    My semi-intelligent friend, the two pictures are not the same and it’s not as hard as “liyunetun feligu” to figure that out.

    which singers do you know?

    i’ll check out The Roots.

    Reply

    • tibebe
      May 14, 2011 @ 12:10:14

      i was dying for you to ask me the question!

      ali farka toure “hokouna”

      imogen heap “hide and seek”

      armin van burren “in and out of love”

      and i think it was you who introduced me to salif keita.

      Reply

  2. getere
    May 13, 2011 @ 19:06:22

    No. But I suspect the CIA sneaked to my company, turned on my computer, started spotify and left it running at night in an effort to turn users against spotify because spotify is run by the KGB.

    Reply

  3. tibebe
    May 13, 2011 @ 08:30:48

    are you suggesting that the CIA had something to do with spotify deciding to charge for songs or the the dollar being on a par with the pound?

    what’s with posting the same picture twice? or is it like those similar pictures on newspapers that go “liyunetun feligu?”

    i know one song each from the three singers you have named.

    but dude, you should listen to THE ROOTS. trust me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
