wears his heart on a screen

Lore has it that, on an evening of a certain gala, Florentino Perez made an overture for Zidane by scribbling “Do you want to play for Madrid?” on a napkin and passing it to Zidane. And anything you pass to Zidane, you done know he gon take care of it -he said “Yes.”

I probably had this in mind when…

Let us back up for a minute

A rainy night, I am heading home in, you guessed it, a bajaj with two girls. It is the girls’ stop and an altercation breaks out because of the you know what -we fight for our collective rights of 5O cents not being usurped of us. “Dude, you should have warned us about the pricing before we boarded your three-legged-mythical-creature-looking-thingie!”

Next day, same time, no rain, I am on the same bajaj with one of the girls. She remembers me and remarks on the coincidence.  We spend a few seconds discussing the importance of a gentlemen’s agreement in the absence of a written code of conduct for the keepers of said mythical creatures.

We have now run of our singular topic of discussion.

I would have loved to instigate additional conversation; and instigate I did: “What guarantee do we have of that dude not overcharging us just like his brother from yesterday?”

Then silence.

Her stop is approaching. Since one cannot be sure what tomorrow holds for night travelers, one does what thinks is the right thing to do under the situations. One writes “R u  single?” on his mobile and shows it to the girl; she answers: “I don’t understand.” One checks the writing again like “woman, what’s  there to not understand?!” and asks her to do the same -same answer. Having had no plan B, one is resigned to watching her get off (his hopes of getting off crushed) without so much as a goodnight.

Now, naturally one is ashamed of the fiasco and this just maybe the reason one is referring to oneself as one. The wording of his message could be put into question and may even be adjudged by pundits as having been rush -having gone for the jugular (or the pudendal rather) too soon. But need I remind you that I am not trying to marry the girl?  Marriage sucks! I mean, look at my friend! His wifey goes out of town for some time and he immediately comes down with a cold and a health hazard to everybody around him -that’s what he has been reduced to. So dependent😡

A guy has got needs and I made my move to realize those needs only way I know how; and in a tight timeframe. Maybe there is a little bit of COIKS involved somewhere in there as well. The frigging concept is affecting multiple facets of my life, man. I may have given the girl the impression that I wanted us to get hitched in situ, with the bajaj handler for a priest (and we are in something blue after all) when all I wanted to convey was that I would have liked us to hang out in a supine position if she was not involved with anyone.

Ah well. What can I say? I am honing my skills. If the god/goddess of random encounters so wills it, next time I see her, here is what I am going to do:

One

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. belew
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 00:04:14

    i found you guys by accident. leza yalew chewata……wededkut

    Reply

  2. Beza
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 16:16:40

    Tibebe, the thirst is real in these blogs ( I know these are really old posts- but still). I hope it has been quenched by now !

    Reply

    • tibebe
      Aug 11, 2015 @ 22:38:54

      አይ ቤዛ! thirst ብቻ ብለሽ ነው? አስቴር እንዳለችው “ፍቅር ይይይይይጠማኛል ፍቅር ይርበኛል” it went away for a while and is now back with a vengeance.

      but i want to mention that this one time recently, i forgot to put aluminium foil over a tube containing fluorescent label, and some quenching took place🙂

      Reply

      • Beza
        Aug 12, 2015 @ 11:08:02

        beka endesu kehone e-harmony, ok cupid minamin mokira. tadia

        about forgetting the aluminum foil, ewnetim error prone honehal… maybe it is time to take a vacation

        Reply

        • tibebe
          Aug 12, 2015 @ 11:32:12

          the sites you mention, are they any good? are you speaking from personal experience? not to imply that anyone else would have the bad luck that i am having, or anything like that😉

          the vacation is coming!

          this morning i found a 20-200 ul micropipette dialed all the way up to 900. I don’t remember myself doing that. Moreover, I share the micropipette with another guy. But I just can’t discount myself –could it be me who did it?😐

          Reply

          • Beza
            Aug 14, 2015 @ 09:23:36

            I was kidding about eharmony and such. To be honest, I have not had a personal experience on those sites, gin I know people who have found pretty good, well matched mates there.

            R u going to Addis for vacation??

            900 on a 20- 200ul ??? !!😮 I feel like the pipette will be of no use after this. I had to try mine this morning to see how far I can dial it and it will only go to 210!!!! – 900? I can’t even imagine!!!

            Reply

            • tibebe
              Aug 16, 2015 @ 12:40:27

              my pipette to yours: “psht, 210?! is that the worst you can do? by the by, how you doing?”

              i am going to etyopia for vacation and to get married.

              if i may ask, if you don’t do dating sites, then what do you do for love? do you just go out into the world and look for it?

              Reply

              • Beza
                Aug 17, 2015 @ 15:05:33

                Really? you’re getting married? Tadia Firik sayhon yerabh ena yetemah echognah neberecha!! Anyway congratulations :)!!!!!
                I believe in not actively looking for love- letting it come by itself. Beka,just going out into the world, having fun and keeping an open mind.

                Reply

                • tibebe
                  Aug 18, 2015 @ 16:33:56

                  ቤዛ ደግሞ you did not let me finish. I was going to say “…to get married if I can…” Thanks for the congratulations though🙂
                  ፍቅር actively ካልተፈለገ ይሳካል ብለሽ ነው? ወይም ደግሞ ከሰዎች እርዳታ ካልተገኘ.

                  Diffusion does not sound like a good strategy for finding love but it sure makes for a good play: “ፍቅር በdiffusion” ምርጥ ትያትር በሀገር ፍቅር ትያትር:: ዘወትር ረቡዕ በ፲ ሰዓት…

                  መልካም ቡሄ!

                  Reply

  3. getere
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 19:41:52

    way to go! next time ask her in your words and post your experience here, rejection or positive alike!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
