akukulu

I am Getere and I can’t set my alarm straight. And no, it’s not because I am getere.

Don’t they all look the same? If you are Ethiopian you will know why. It gets worse if you move to another country. Once you start using ferenj akotater, you end up in a midway zombie state where you appear to be (rather, become) a fool who requires a few seconds complete silence to process any kind of time information.

1. A little over a year ago, my wake up alarm for an early flight didn’t ring. I checked online while rushing to the airport. It was a relief.

2. Late last year I missed an important meeting. Too embarrassed, I called in sick and skipped the whole day.

3. Last Monday, bearing in mind I could screw up, ene aradaw, setup two alarms ten minutes from each other. It was a brilliant plan. One of them was wrong but the other one worked. But I was too paranoid so I woke up 20 minutes earlier anyway.

On a serious note (as if my points above are not serious enough) it’s healthier to wake up without an alarm (rooster crows count as alarms too).

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 22:05:33

    My friend was a little bit worried today when I texted him saying I will be 6 hours and 20 minutes late for our coffee appointment.

    Reply

  2. getere
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 07:06:02

    missed it today too. see the “weekdays” in the picture? yeah.

    Reply

    • tibebe
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 14:22:10

      had to leave for ba da on sunday morn. spent saturday night waking up every hour. 30 minutes before the alarm sounded i got up, turned it off and went off to my business, looking and feeling like a wrinkled shirt would.

      Reply

  3. meski
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 14:49:15

    that piece cracked me up!

    Reply

  4. getere
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 14:26:03

    and i shall put that in my list of backup plans

    Reply

  5. ti be be
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 08:47:17

    naturally, the logical thing to do under these sorts of situations is not to sleep at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
