my latest stay in Addis Abeba

Saw B complex in a different light -from a teacher’s perspective. I imagined how it would be to do my thing in them halls. Tested the acoustics. The verdict – Beautiful! Fucking beautiful!!

The view from Adde’s office. Also sat in Acapulco (not shown)

Waffles and hot chocolate cake -La Parisienne

The Tripartite 

My brother stole him from me and gave it to his lady. Kind of reminds me of the time when my other brother stole my toy and gave it to his lady

My father owns a fleet of these cool pajamas; I was much obliged when he gave me one. My mother bought me a couple others. I don’t sound 29, do I? Well, I don’t care!

Songs sang in our home every year around the fire (Buhe, Enqutatash, Mesqel.) Couldn’t find the audio

Jumped on the bandwagon too late that my feet got dragged on the dust 

Plenty of yogurt; God bless (some)  lactobacillus!

Visited professors for recommendations. On an unrelated note, a recommendation from Teklewold Atnafu 

QuanTa -the newest addition to the team 

Saw my niece signal for her mother (my mother) to pick her up. A poignant moment, I almost wrote a poem about it. My hormones are playing havoc with me 😦

Speaking of writing poems (and whether I should be writing them), here is an excerpt from Anna Karenina:

Mihailov meanwhile, although Anna’s portrait greatly fascinated him, was even more glad than they were when the sittings were over, and he had no longer to listen to Golenishtchev’s disquisitions upon art, and could forget about Vronsky’s painting. He knew that Vronsky could not be prevented from amusing himself with painting; he knew that he and all dilettanti had a perfect right to paint what they liked, but it was distasteful to him. A man could not be prevented from making himself a big wax doll, and kissing it. But if the man were to come with the doll and sit before a man in love, and begin caressing his doll as the lover caressed the woman he loved, it would be distasteful to the lover. Just such a distasteful sensation was what Mihailov felt at the sight of Vronsky’s painting: he felt it both ludicrous and irritating, both pitiable and offensive.

It beats me why they leave the French as it is on English translations of Russian novels. Part 8, chapters 15 and 16 are an interesting read on individual vs public opinion (almost reminiscent of the brouhaha about The Dam.) Now reading Midnight’s Children and thoroughly enjoying it.

One

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 18:41:09

    i haven’t forgotten. at least six years since i’ve had any but i still remember it to be tasty.

    no argument against tibeb. i like tibeb on netela. why is it monopolized by women again? men stuck with gabi? on the plus side i have the freedom to do whatever i want here! i have netela that i sometimes use. winter is round the corner i should bring it out. only problem is it’s not designed for use in cold countries. the warmest scarf i could find in ethiopia was still not warm enough in winter here. if you want to wear your pyjamas outside then come here.

    Reply

  2. getere
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 23:05:52

    Midnight’s children sounds good. author is lucky he hasn’t been murdered yet.

    pics are very nice. the song too. qunta is tasty. pyjamas are a quick way of getting out of your bedroom. but given you live alone i guess you don’t have a problem dangling it wherever you go…

    i like the recommendation and i miss B complex. warming up in the sun and waiting for the lecturer to come…

    Reply

    • tibebe
      Oct 10, 2011 @ 13:59:20

      need i remind you that quanta happens to be made of dead animal?

      the pajamas make you wanna were them to school. have you seen the tibeb on them?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
