sweet defeat

Conquer me I beg of you
Thrash me
Till I’m black and blue
But stubborn
You’d rather wait
Till black turns blue
So I wait
From disinterested heights
The moon and the stars
For witnesses
Won’t pine for you
Thus I will catch you
Unawares
And you shall defeat me
I go far away
Will not bother you
Return, find myself
It’s like I never left
You, still unmoved
I wait
Alone in the entire world
Oh boisterous cricket
Where art thou?!
Where?
Man-made beasts
Are all I hear
(with legally-asleep handlers)
You refuse
Now I apologize
For all the times
I tried to beat you
For I don’t know better
But please
For this one time
To overpower me I need you
For whom else can I trust to deal
So thorough a blow?
Take pity on me
I am yours for the taking
Body and soul
Like that Billie Holiday song
Don’t hold your breath
Like I’ve held mine
To creep up on you
When you see me exposed
The many sides
Tired
Stumped
How to get through to you
Or the other way round
Time passes
I mourn the losses
The losses that could have been
So refractory an enemy
A friend
Who worse than you
To snub a sacrifice laid?
A sacrifice which pleads
“Receive me now
Take me into your arms”
Thus to re-offer itself tomorrow

One

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elyas Mulu Kiros
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 21:02:49

    I love this poem! Well done! 🙂

    “But stubborn
    You’d rather wait
    Till black turns blue”

    Excellent line!!! Wow, keep writing! 🙂 (unfortunately, I dont know which one of you wrote this lol so am just saying well done to the three of you … anidim sostim nachew yilalina metafu … lol) I like your collaboration btw! But it would b nice if you put your individual nicks at the end of the poem! 🙂 Is ONE a nick btw? if so, well done one! 😀

    ****

    as a side note, I just wanna inform you that each time I come to your blog it takes forever to load, and it often freezes my computer lol I dont kno why, tried to figure it out but no luck … i dont kno if it has anything to do with the 74 comments fixed page … if thats the case, you may wanna do something abt it. Its kinda frustrating lol … I enjoy coming to your blog, i learn something new every time I visit, but that one problem makes my experience a little discomforting … yeah ive little patience … cant wait two three minutes for a blog to load, that is like waiting 20 minutes in the real world. 😉

    Bertu!!

    Reply

    • getere
      Dec 08, 2011 @ 10:56:26

      Thanks Elyas. It’s true, one of us likes to sign “One”. I leave my posts unsigned just to confuse everyone. I like my “geterenet” in comments though 🙂 (andim sostim nachew 😀 )

      Sorry you had to wait long for pages to load. I had no idea it can get painfully slow – and I shall look into it. Thanks for telling us. Joro lebalebetu bada new.

      You being a long time “getami” and all I’m glad there’s someone who can appreciate One’s work. Frankly, the two of us used to think One had gone mental (actually we still maintain that view nevertheless).

      Reply

      • Elyas Mulu Kiros
        Dec 09, 2011 @ 16:00:22

        LOL@gone mental …. you guys are mean!!! LOL Am sure when he sees that comment, sombody’s gonna get hurt!! lol (*insert Russell’s comedy* :P)

        … nah, am just Jemari like you guys … zimbiye naw mifcherecherew! 🙂 … so we all rocking the same boat … and it is a great feeling to be able to express oneself somehow however imperfect. So yah eniberta … I so get encouraged when I see other Ethiopians blogging, … it’s always nice to see yagerlijoch anywhere you go, you kno … 🙂

        Reply

  2. getere
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 15:08:48

    Sweet defeet. Enkutatash.

    Reply

  3. getere
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 10:22:37

    it’s good to be in love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
