undun – the roots

Laptop speakers don’t do it justice. Headphones (or big ass speakers) is the only way this shit is supposed to be enjoyed.

The Roots man, I used to think of them as “that bizarre group’’ what with the appearance of ?uestlove. Break You Off was the song that properly introduced me to them and now, I am a proud owner of ten of their albums; now, I wish I could be cool and spit like Black Thought.

I am glad to have looked forward to Undun. It has been said already -The Roots never anticippoint! Too short though 😦

My present favorites –Lighthouse and The Other Side. But the whole thing is amazing. I have lost count of the number of times I’ve heard it in the past two days. In fact, it is probably the only good thing to have happened to me in a painful streak of bad classes, the thoughts of someone (methinks I’m in love!) and coccydynia (cool name, but messes your days up. Funny, when it started, I was all excited like “Look! I am sick! :grin:” (“enem weg deresegne” aynet neger) Now every morning I be down like “It’s getting worse :sad:”)

How did I get hold of the album? I downloaded it of course. And I sincerely apologize to The Roots for they deserve so much more. That’s why I promise to buy all of their albums in the near future and “play them at high volume, preferably in a residential area.” They can take that to the bank.

Styles P’s verse from Rising Down “… they call it downloading, I call it downsizing…”

Chris Rock’s verse from Blame Game “…Imma buy his album, Imma download that.. Imma shoot a bootlegger!…”
Let my landlord’s kid rock to Lil Wayne and Rick Ross; I be steady bumping The Roots, my peoples!

I don’t want you to get the wrong impression of me as a neophobe, a dedicated naysayer to most of today’s music. I had also downloaded Tha Carter IV and R.E.D. Album. No raves and promises there.

One

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 18:48:19

    laptop speakers should be rounded up and shot.

    Reply

  2. tibebe
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 16:16:22

    Selam Dere!

    It would be great if they could hit Etyopia. I hear (from Wikipedia) their live sets are bangin’ .

    I would be there!

    Reply

  3. Dere
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 15:40:09

    lol…”that bizarre group’” …well i used to think the same!!…i mean come on ,check out the drummer with his weird a** afro and the lead singer with his huge a** lips that look like over burned “Defo Dabo” …a hip hop style that is strange and unique…. but all end up in a great beat/ rhythm. Gotta love ’em !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
