i carries like atlas

Damn you!
Damn you to hell!
For you lowered my sky
I was doing fine just by myself
Setting my limits
Carrying my sky
An arm’s length
Above my head
And then you came
You hit me where it hurt
I went down
Took my sky with me
So small on my feet
Hit the ground
A big sorry bundle
Of silently screaming why oh why
(Pause for effect; picture me silently screaming, will ya!)
Took it up with the real sky
Calm as you like
Smug in its clarity
Began to impart said clarity
On dumb one
“Remember this morning,
When you brought down
Someone else’s sky?”
De pronto it hit me
For the second time
In seventeen lines
This time, the stupid thing I’ve done
Oh snap!
Sure I knew that Karma was a bitch
But this swift, damn!
Yo, but that was different
(I am cool with the sky like dat)
I was just telling the kid
What I thought was right for the kid
Yeah right!
The road to hell is paved with…
Wait a minute!
You use that up there too?!
I thought only us mortals…
I guess then it must be true
I mean
You must have seen hell first hand
Is it really like…
Just shut up and listen!
Word to the wise
Or the fool in this case
Next time, leave your sky be
Set your hands free
And fly

One

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elyas Mulu Kiros
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 16:26:13

    “You hit me where it hurt
    I went down
    Took my sky with me
    So small on my feet
    Hit the ground
    A big sorry bundle
    Of silently screaming why oh why”

    I PAUSED … and I listened to the effect and I imagined your sky! 🙂

    Nice poem!! 😀

    Reply

  2. getere
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 20:29:29

    i like the conclusion.

    and that art is the best i’ve seen for a while. i’ll go jump outside my window and see if instruction number 4 works.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
