World music from lastfm

I have been listening to “World Music” from lastfm the past two weeks. I discovered good bands and groups. I have about fifteen songs in my “burn on CD” list. Three of them here.

Shrine – Beats Antique


They say “some rights reserved” on their website, which turns out to be a Creative Commons License. The song is free to copy, remix and use for commercial use! Oy. But why are almost all their shows in the states. They should go out a bit more like their songs.

Habibi Min Zaman – Balkan Beat Box

In fact I discovered this band after a Balkan music night in Edinburgh by a group who call themselves Balkanarama. Balkanarama’s tag line is “Hot Balkan Instrumental Orgy!”. Trust me, they mean it. The very next day I started digging Balkan music on Spotify and BBB came on top of my search.

Bo’ee – The Idan Raichel Project

This one is in Hebrew and Amharic. The deep male voice singing in Amharic is by a Begena musician. Anyone know his name? He is known for singing spiritual songs but he doesn’t at all feel out of place here. I love the video. Friends hanging out can make a great clip too! There are comments on the video with Amharic & Hebrew to English translation.

Three.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tibebe
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 15:36:51

    nice songs, all of them. first song kind of reminds of “ass like that” eminem. there is iliita on the second one🙂 the guy playing the begena is alemu aga. i hope you like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CYHyxLVUYX4

    so you took three? when i started using “one” i meant it 1. as a way of counting my posts (if you remember at the beginning i had this thing of numbering my posts), like saying “there goes another one” 2. as a way of signing off – “one love”. but lately, it has been brought to my attention that i can use it (and may subliminally have been using it) as a nickname – 1 of 3. I never meant to take number 1 for myself. but now it is mine, i am never letting it go. 3 and 2 (i guess now mona has got no choice but to be 2), just try and take 1 away from me! i said try it👿

    Reply

    • getere
      Feb 20, 2012 @ 20:24:05

      they’re both chilled out songs.

      their ililita sounds much better than ours (yegna joro yibetisal aymeslihim?).

      really? i used to see “one” as in “we are one”. you may have signed your first post that way… but who keeps a record of all the countings you do.

      take your one. i like three.

      Reply

  2. getere
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 19:42:48

    I forgot to say, proper speakers advised. Outright exclusions are laptop speakers and crappy ear-phones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
