And more music

Ever heard of Dub Clossus? It is a mix of great musicians. You have Tsedenya, known mostly as a pop artist but plays jazz quiet comfortably too. Samuel Yirga, a fine pianist. I wish there were more like him – who take old Ethiopian songs and jazz it up. Sintayehu does Azmari songs. I like her songs but after meeting her in person I liked her more. There is Gash Feleke Hailu a well known sax player (to say the least). I think I first saw him in person when I went to Yared Music School to take my probably first ever music lessons (come to think of it I am worse than I was back then). There is of course Nick, who got them all together. Yetebareke. He commands the base guitar well. Here is one song from their first album, A Town Called Addis. As I always say, you need good speakers to appreciate the music. Laptop speakers and other crappy speakers have poor response to bass. And dub music is nothing without bass.

I saw Mesfin Abebe on a video of one of his recent songs. After all these years he doesn’t look as aged as you might expect. Well done man! Students, see what music does to you?

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
