Mela Keyboard

There are thousands of English keyboard apps on Google Play and a few Ge’ez keyboards. I’m quite satisfied with my choice of English keyboard (I use “iPhone Keyboard for Android”), and I’m sure many Android users have found one they like. However I couldn’t find a good Ge’ez keyboard. I was looking for these features,

1. Must support Ge’ez and English so that I don’t have to switch between different keyboard apps
2. I should be able to switch between the two keyboards seamlessly
3. Must have English spelling suggestion
4. Must have Amharic suggestion
5. Typing Ge’ez letters should be easy

I tried every Ge’ez keyboard on Google Play. None of them had the features I was looking for. They all lacked at least one of the features I had in mind, specially points 4 and 5. Mela Keyboard has all the features that I feel a basic Ge’ez keyboard should have.

And that is why I have been passionately working on Mela Keyboard, an Android keyboard with Ge’ez and Latin letters.

Here is the Ge’ez keyboard with Amharic suggestion. The dictionary of Amharic words being used is so rich that I sometimes get surprised when a lengthy word I have in mind comes up right away. A few percentage of the suggested Amharic words are misspelled. I plan to get those gradually weeded out.

Image

To allow typing Ge’ez letters easily, you use what I call the “Handy Key”. It’s the one in the middle with a yellow border. Every time it is pressed, it switches the current character, eg. from ሁ to ሂ.

Here is the English keyboard with word suggestion.

Image

I used it for about two months while continuously fine tuning it. Now that I think it is a good keyboard, I’m ready to share it with everyone else. I released it this week. I hope fellow Android users enjoy it.

To install it, get Mela Keyboard on Google Play.

If you like it, like Mela Keyboard Facebook page to let others discover it.

If you don’t like it, the app makes it easy to send comments.

I look forward to hearing from users!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    May 03, 2014 @ 11:08:39

    That one was for a hypothetical friend. I have started using it for real though. I’m finding Amharic is more compact than English.

    Reply

  2. tibebe
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:38:05

    Looking forward to using it.

    Who are you texting btw?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
