ነገ

When I came here, I was under the illusion that I would find the classes easy given my years of experience teaching the subject. It even crossed my mind, coming clean to the professors about my unfair advantage. I didn’t want them to be hard on the other students when grading them:  እሰቅላችዋለሁ ብዬ ሰግቼ ነበር::

My fear was quickly allayed by one of the courses. Man, I couldn’t do a single question on the worksheet. And that, even after the professor provided us with the answers! I asked him to give me tips on how to deal because I have found his subject to be quite difficult. Our meeting was reminiscent of the ones I used to have with those students of mine who were in similar situations: you can’t trust the meetings to solve all the problems. The other subject, on the other hand, is a bit easier but overall, it is like undergraduate freshman year all over again.

It is a great relief when weekends arrive not only because they are temporary respite after grueling weekdays but also because they are a great chance to catch up on one’s studies. Wait, did I say that right? I had great hopes for this weekend with regards to the upcoming test. Then what do I do?  I go and spend the greater part of it cleaning the stove and the kitchen floor, doing the laundry, washing the trash can, ቁሌትና ሚጥሚጣ ወደ ጥሩ ዕቃ ስገለብጥ, forcing a friend to continue with our conversation over the phone despite its being የኢትዮጵያ ከሌሊቱ ፯ ሰዓት, ስራ ሳላጣ የተቀደደ ሹራብና ሱሬ ስሰፋ (you should have seen me at the store, looking for the place where they sold the sewing materials, looking over my shoulder to see if people were watching and making fun of me, wagering on my sexual orientation. The pants are brand new.  They carried me over a sea and an ocean, and then the seams decided to give way around the balls area. My guess is that my balls were expanding in response to the different time zone. Then again, my move was one of the most ball retracting things to have happened to me. Go figure. Anyway, I need not have worried about mending my clothes, after seeing a professor wearing a sweater with a gaping hole on the elbow like it  literally was nobody’s business), trying to reach page 100 of Lawrence in Arabia: War, Deceit, Imperial Folly and the Making of the Modern Middle East, checking on Manchester United’s result and being disappointed, wondering why my roommate has to yawn from day break to evening, almost cleaning my bathroom, writing this blog post… In short, doing everything else except the one thing I was supposed to be doing. I was sabotaging myself.

መቼም የሽማግሌ አምላክ ይርዳኝ እንጂ በስተርጅና ትምህርት ይከብዳል::

The happenings of this weekend inspired me ይህችን ስንኝ እንድቁዋጥር

ለነገ ያልኩትን

ነገ ሰማና

ልጆቹን ሰብስቦ ሳቀ

ሳቃቸው ኧረ ልቾ! ሳቃችው

እስከ ዝንት ዓለም ተሰማ::

አሁን ይሄ ያስቃል

የስጋ ለባሽ ድክመት?!

Almost a rip-off of the “if you want God to laugh…” line but you gotta love the effort.

I hope it has not gone unnoticed that አማርኛ figuring more prominently in my recent posts. Well, get over it because I also wore a traditional shirt ለእንቁጣጣሽ, ሃገሬ አድርጌ የማላውቀውን:: I also set off the fire alarm while cooking; a great start to the new year. It is going to be fiya!

Finally got to eat the famous salmon. Tastes good plus unlike tilapia, it does not fall apart in the frying pan. It is a fish of tremendous character. Swimming upstream against all odds, finding the exact spot where it was born, spawning and then, dying.

One

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. getere
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 17:25:47

    It’s funny I was listening to Kill Bill soundtrack songs just now. The scene with Beatrix and Copperhead, Crazy 88…

    Noticed your increased usage of አማርኛ too. The traditional outfit for guys arghhh… ቦላሌ ምናምን. I occasionally wear my a top with a big cross on it. Remember my brown jacket made of ጋቢ ጨርቅ? ኧረ በቃኝ እስኪል ነው የለበስኩት። A contemporary design like that one and I’m sold.

    I liked this piece by the way
    http://www.warscapes.com/literature/gash-wondimu

    Why does it go back to where it was born? Any significance for its survival? My latest read was about owls (triggered when I came across an old photo of mine carrying a beautiful eagle owl on my hand). Silent flyers. I’m glad I’m not a mouse. Speaking of mice, search for “የካናዳ አይጦችና የኢትዮጵያ አይጦች”. የካናዳ አይጦች ለምን ወደ ኢትዮጵያ እንደሚሰደዱ ሚስጥሩ ይገባሃል.

    Reply

    • tibebe
      Sep 28, 2014 @ 11:56:51

      Very funny story. ገሎበላይዜሽን, ማርስ ቀርቶ ለምን አንጨቆረር አትሄጂም?, the way the mice laugh🙂 I must say that the narrator has done it justice.

      Sad one, about Gash Wondimu.

      I think only the salmon would know why they go back to the place they were born🙂 But one plausible hypothesis I have read say that they feel like the place would be kind to their offspring like it was to them when they were kids.

      Your brown jacket made of ጋቢ ጨርቅ is the inspiration for my next post, thanks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
