Film quotes – machines comment on humans

While re-watching one of my favorite TV series Battlestar Galactica (2004), I came across a great dialogue that was too good to move on from 🙂 When I first watched the series I was fascinated with the idea of a few machine models, each with its own distinct characterstics. John Cavil is a machine also known as Number One. He is the first human-like model to be built. He has a cruel personality. He talks to one of his makers Ellen about the human body he is in.

One: In all your travels, have you ever seen a star supernova?

Ellen: No.

One: No. Well, I have. I saw a star explode and send out the building blocks of the universe! Other stars, other planets, and eventually, other life! A supernova. Creation itself. I was there, I wanted to see it. And be part of the moment. And you know how I perceived one of the most glorious events in the universe? With these ridiculous gelatinous orbs in my skull! With eyes designed to perceive only a tiny fraction of the EM spectrum! With ears designed only to hear vibrations in the air!

Ellen: The five of us designed you to be as human as possible.

One: I don’t want to be human! I want to see gamma rays! I want to hear X-rays! And I wanna, I wanna smell dark matter! Do you see the absurdity of what I am, I can’t even express these things properly because I have to, I have to conceptualize complex ideas in this stupid limiting spoken language! But I know I wanna reach out with something other than these prehensile paws! And feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me!

Stupid limiting spoken language! We find it limiting at times too. You are not alone.

And another good one from The Matrix (1999). Agent Smith, a machine, tells Morpheus why humans are like a virus. I mentioned it elsewhere in this blog but I thought I should put the full quote here 🙂

I’d like to share a revelation that I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species. I realized that you’re not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment but you humans do not. You move to an area and you multiply, and multiply until every natural resource is consumed, and the only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet. You’re a plague. And we, are the cure.

What are your favorite quotes?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. geTere
    May 27, 2016 @ 12:51:31

    Now listed here 🙂 http://hard-scifi.com

    Reply

    • Tibebe
      May 27, 2016 @ 20:49:46

      Happy for you, as a mate. And I kind of know how hard (puns intended) you’ve been working on it.

      But as a coblogger, what the f do you think you are doing, announcing yet another side project on our beloved andthree?!

      Degmo, you know that scientific fiction is wushet, right? 😀

      But like I’d tried to point out at the beginning, happy for you 😀 and the beneficiaries from this noble effort.

      Reply

  2. geTere
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 16:14:48

    And this one from Humans.

    He: If it’s not physical, how did he do it?

    Her: 17,000 pages of unique code which forms my root directory, and engages consciousness.

    He: He boiled down the mystery of the human mind to 17,000 pages of code? Well, then again, why not? How many angels can dance on the head of a pin. What are you feeling right now?

    Her: Boredom at that question. Anger at the people that would destroy us. Hope, for others like me and our future, impatience at being here, and irritation at you.

    Him: What’s it like to be you?

    Her: That’s an unanswerable question. I have no frame of reference. No one does. Experience is entirely subjective. What’s it like to be YOU?

    Reply

  3. getere
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 05:50:03

    Here is a clip showing it, with added comment on sleep as a “supremely unproductive human attribute”. And the Ace Ventura scene 🙂

    Reply

  4. tibebe
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 13:36:22

    I want the entity who posted this to write the following captcha as it appears on the screen: At6Yi%@#Z$&3?

    ወቸ ጉድ!!! It seems machines have started posting on andthree.

    I don’t know about hearing x rays and shit. But I can think of another prehensile part of the body which could do some reaching out 🙂

    My favorite movie quote of all time: “Einhorn is Finkle! Finkle is Einhorn! Einhorn is a man! Oh my God! Einhorn is a man!” Ace Ventura: Pet Detective

    Words suffice; just have to find the right words.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
