Am I the only one in this b________ who loves p_____?!

The way place names are written in some Russian novels like “in the province of R______” ወዘተ:: P_______ could stand for Pepsi for all we know. I did some search and turns out there is a song linking the two:

Is it just me or does the Pepsi logo kind of resemble a p_______? Then again, the way mirages of water appear to a thirsty traveler in the desert, so does one begin to see the p________ in everything and everyone.

I come to you, dear reader, from my hangover bed. It is 3:30 in the afternoon and can’t get myself to get up for lunch; so I am making do with a certain monocled fellow:

IMG_20150221_171139381[1]

Here is what my daily Russian roulette with the Holy Bible has provided

Love not sleep, lest thou come to poverty; open thine eyes, and thou shalt be satisfied with bread.

Proverbs 20:13

Last night I hung out with the guys from school. There was chopsticks, bottles and karaoke; two guys, four girls. The problems with the composition of our group: numero uno, there is that probability of six people getting deadlocked should some very important decision, say, what kind of beer to get, were put to the vote; and dos, found out only last night that dude was gay (doubling the number of the actual flesh and blood gay people that I know), or should I say LGBT🙂 Small wonder he was trying to recruit more dudes to the outing. I took offense in retrospect. Apparently, he does not find me hot. Don’t get me wrong. I also take offense when the girls keep talking about hot guys as if I am not there with them. I mean, hello, aspiring hot guy in your midst, ladies! Sucks to be the uncle figure.

I had to vie for the mike with two of the girls who went through most of today’s bubblegum pop. We were split into two cohorts of millennials and our tastes in music did not exactly match. And it was reckless of me to have shown the affinity for the mike that I did in a gay man’s pad. But ye all know what ethanol does to your cell membranes, making your proteins act all weird. He even serenaded me! Despite words in my head, my response to that was to play along like “True dat!” I joined him in belting out “Losing my Religion” although the song’s coming-out-of-the-closet-undertones were not lost on me:

He is a cool cat though. A man’s man if you will. He liked my song choices: what more could I ask from a person? And when I was about to do Maxwell, he tried to look out for me like “Are you sure man?  Maxwell is hard” (today everything seems to come out wrong) and I was like “That’s the point!”  And then we were like…

Is it not wonderful, how the simple word “like” has become the antidote to society’s bane of he say she say?

The best joke from the night: put some glycerol in your love and store it in aliquots in a -80 0C fridge –it will not go bad.

Got introduced to some cool music btw. Looks like there are still some decent acts left out there🙂

Remember when people used to say that Michael changed his skin because he was ashamed of being black and now he is insulting black people አር ዩ መንኪ አር ዩ መንኪ🙂

God bless the home girl that drove us home; and Siri too.

I was reminding myself to not to forget to memorize the route to my place yesterday morning on the way to school. And I had forgotten to do that🙂  Yep. Six months and I sometimes find it hard to find my bearings.

I guess the point I am trying to make is that, as far as the expedition to the province P________ is concerned, boy am I in the wrong search party.

በመጨረሻም

እና

One

Now it’s 6:05

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hahaitsme
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 06:55:30

    excellent read as always🙂 check out music by Andy McKee on youtube – he got some seriously sick guitar skills!

    Reply

    • andthree
      Feb 23, 2015 @ 12:20:06

      Thanks for reading, man. ዓላማችን አንባቢዎቻችንን ማስደሰት ነው🙂

      I like Andy’s videos, thanks.

      I now remembered that there was only 3 (not 4) girls. Damn, I must have been really drunk🙂

      Reply

  2. getere
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 08:59:12

    Maxwell is hard. Did you sing that.

    Reply

    • tibebe
      Feb 22, 2015 @ 12:19:56

      በደንብ ነዋ! I hit the high notes and shit🙂 I also covered Bob Marley and The Roots. But the best moment was when we all sang this:

      Gave more meaning now that we are slowly inching to the spring. But the title of the song should have been “Here comes the sun, and it works!” to distinguish it from the pathetic winter sun that comes out wrapped in layers of blankets since it itself is feeling very cold.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
