friends and shit

I’m sitting home alone; it’s just me and the bull (shit.)

vina fuerte I’m occupying a four person apartment until new roommates are assigned. Below are the assortment of thoughts that are going thru my head this the eve of the second year since I left home.

  • I reserve the right to enjoy the newly-created space and order while at the same time kind of missing dearly moved out roommates. And I am not saying that because I now have to buy my own can opener; because I have to find a means of watching Bill Maher online now that the TV is gone. One of them, I exchanged the same four lines of pleasantries with, day in, day out. Other dude was just like me one of the founding fathers of this here place. He came through for me on several occasions. A far cry from another founding father whom I fell out with and who estimated that it would take only about 10 seconds to kill me.
  • Dude who sort of explored the feasibility of killing me hails from the same place as this friend from school. I dare say my only friend from school. A really nice guy. መቼም የእናት ሆድ ዥንጉርጉር አይደል የሚባለው?! He is helluva smart too. Always willing to help when I’m struggling in the lab. Watched a few games together. Dined together a few times. Aw, shit. It almost sounds like…  Seems has got a decent business acumen. He loves solving problems. He sees one and next thing you know, he may be in front of the nearest chalkboard, scribbling a simple algorithm for the solution. He really deserves all the best that’s coming his way.
  • Now, when we started this drinking thing, the plan was to finish a bottle of wine every month. But now I fear that I may have developed a bit of a resistance. አንድ ብርጭቆ እንደበፊቱ አላሰማ እያለኝ ነው:: At first I had thought that it probably was due to the oxidation of ethanol to acetic acid (አቼቶ.) ሰላጣ ከመብላት የሰከረ ሰው ደግሞ ተሰምቶ አይታወቅም:: But red wine is supposed to thrive at room temp, within reason. White wine likes to chill; that’s why it seems I won’t be after all drinking from this bottle:

leftover

Point is, like the good experimenter that I am, I tested a glass of white/red that sat out for too long and a glass of fresh red (not all at the same time 🙂 ) They were all poorly inebriating. Recommendation: up the dose. From humble beginnings; sky is the limit.

how to read the air

Liked the story; and the final paragraph. There was also this one part which I will post as soon as it comes back to me 🙂

  • አንድ ሰሞን ከአለቃዬ ጋር ሁለታችንም ፊኛችንን ልናቃልል ሰንሄድ እንገጣጠም ነበር:: I don’t know if it could be called the male equivalent of synchronized periods. It was almost like we had developed this special rapport that could only bode well for my work. ከዛ ግን ቀረ::
  • እዛው ሽንት ቤት ውስጥ… I am at one of the two urinals and another person had went to the stall. Then he does a swift 180 and gets the hell out of the place. I walk over to investigate -አንበሳ, ዘንዶ,… አይቶ ይሆን? ዘራፍ! Turns out it was actually a ዘንዶ:: አንድ ማንንቱ ያልታወቀ ግለሰብ ዘብልሎት ሔዷል:: አዬ ያንዳንድ ሰው ነገር! ኩራት መሆኑ ነው? Like, look at my output?

One

Take it away, Sami and Astu.

Video

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tibebe
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 22:49:11

    አዮዋ እኮ የዘንዶ አገር ነው, ምን ነካህ? 😛

    Reply

  2. geTere
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 16:31:58

    መዝገበ ቃላቴ ሩቅ ነው። ዘብልሎት? ገጠር ነው የምትኖረው ግን ዘንዶ ምን ሊያረግ ገብቶ ነው።

    Reply

Leave a Reply

wordpress statistics
