Berbere

It’s been a while since I run out on this powder potion. Thanks to my mom, I got one today.

It was delivered to my office. It’s good to see “ye etopia” package among piles of stuff when you least expect anything remotely related to Ethiopia … leave alone something big and hard core with big Amharic letters. To be exact, Geez script.

First thing after coming home, unpacking.

And put some in a used Nescafe bottle

Bilugn bilugn ayilm? So I warmed up two kita’s,

spread some Anchor butter,

and grated cheese over it

are you still reading? Sorry, I no longer have pictures of it. But the ending is good (not from the kita’s side of course).

Right. Now I need to stop telling people I have lots of berbere.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. betty
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 19:47:42

    Kilo 500 birr kegebama.. chigir meta malet neww…. I think 1 feresula would be 500 birr may be…

    As for mar. I love the one from back home.. some how I feel ye agerbet niboch work harder to make it taste unique and very tasty…..especially nech mar..

    Mitmita izihim ale ( ye spanish kariya) neger gin yager betu kimem makes it taste amazing. The you monster part is funny.

    But at this time I am telling Tsiye that she is lucky she is Abesha. Why? well due to a well planned and appreciated project, her appetite for any type of food depends on how much pain it inflicts on the palate, in other words she is eating a lot of berbere lately.

    Reply

  2. getere
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 19:26:07

    how much is it then? i’m eager to know!

    Reply

  3. tilish
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 18:12:44

    Beth, you know more than I do but are you suggesting mar with kita and berbere?

    A friend, after seeing the berebere I received, commented my family must love me a lot. Reason being the price of berebere shooting up. So I was wondering, how much would a 1 KG berebere cost? Tewedede tewedede bibal 500 birr ayhonim meches?

    Reply

    • tibebe
      Feb 19, 2010 @ 15:36:58

      your friend is right: many families express their affection by sponsoring the burning of the taste buds of their kids.

      mar is out of the question. you can find at your nearest supermarket.

      mitmita all day everyday! 🙂

      ay yediaspora neger! and kilo berbere 500 birr ayhonim bileh gemetk?! yeseyTan joro aysma

      it is kemishtu 12:37 and i am in the internet lab held up by my usual idle ways. erat min yihon ❓

      Reply

    • betty
      Feb 20, 2010 @ 03:03:29

      mar with kita and berbere? I was actually suggesting the two minus the berbere. But close enough I guess since my friends and I used to eat yemiakatil chechebsa with table sugar. What can I tell you Tiye, I am into trying everything.

      Reply

    • betty
      Feb 20, 2010 @ 11:59:28

      wait a second… negeroch tezeberarkewubign neber.It was Tiye that recieved the berbere, not papy. You got me good Tiye. Did you make the kita (Melewa)yourself, it looks yummy.

      No I was not suggesting kita, berbere and mar together. I was going for the minus berbere and kita with mar. But then again my friends and I used to eat ye miakatil chechebsa with table sugar. I like to mix it up a lot of times.

      Suggestion: a quick and easy recipe for chechebsa….first make the kita, warm up some oil on a cooking pot, then mix the berbere with warmed up oil. Then cut the kita into pieces and drizzle the berbere and oil mix on top and mix everything together and you have a nice chechebsa, serves one person and as for calories, we ethiopians have never been worried about that, so I donot know.

      Reply

  4. betty
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 07:32:07

    I am loving this… reminds me of the kitfo you sent… tiamo.. papiye. Mar should have been a better choice for the kita though right Tiye?

    Reply

  5. tibebe
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 08:53:22

    shout out to tilish’s mom 🙂

    now you should send your son mitmita cuz everyone knows that berbere rocks but mitmita rocks harder.

    you take pleasure in inflicting pain on innocent kitas. you monster!

    Reply

    • betty
      Feb 20, 2010 @ 03:06:14

      hey papiye, did you make the melewa yourself?

      Reply

      • tibebe
        Feb 20, 2010 @ 10:58:49

        i have no idea which melewa you are talking about. what i had for dinner was a nice shiro and selaTa at my friend’s.

        berbere kegezahu qoyehu. gin begimit gimash wey mulu kilo yebure berbere asra sidist bir gedema neber. 🙂

        so you see, things are not half as bad as you think they are. in fact they could not be better because they are the way they were planned to be from the beginning of time.

        misa degmo min yihon?

        today i was thinking of posting about something. but it seems i am short of time, energy and inspiration. i guess it will have to wait until monday or whenever.

        dehina walu sewoch!

        at least lemme post a picture showing how the saga of tilish’s berbere began.

        Reply

        • betty
          Feb 20, 2010 @ 11:45:33

          melewa malet kita malete new…

          Reply

          • tibebe
            Feb 23, 2010 @ 14:48:12

            but papiye did not make no melewa 😈 you mean the other guy? 🙂

            Reply

            • betty
              Feb 23, 2010 @ 23:58:53

              wait a second… negeroch tezeberarkewubign neber.It was Tiye that recieved the berbere, not papy. You got me good Tiye. Did you make the kita (Melewa)yourself, it looks yummy.

              No I was not suggesting kita, berbere and mar together. I was going for the minus berbere and kita with mar. But then again my friends and I used to eat ye miakatil chechebsa with table sugar. I like to mix it up a lot of times.

              Suggestion: a quick and easy recipe for chechebsa….first make the kita, warm up some oil on a cooking pot, then mix the berbere with warmed up oil. Then cut the kita into pieces and drizzle the berbere and oil mix on top and mix everything together and you have a nice chechebsa, serves one person and as for calories, we ethiopians have never been worried about that, so I donot know.

              Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

wordpress statistics